• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

During….

“So, tell me, why do you have a blog? Is it to plumb the depths of human emotion, discuss the the meaning of life? Or are you more involved with politics and wish to discuss pressing world issues?”

“Nah, I just like to put up pictures of dinner being cooked.”


The beans are bubbling away in the black pot, I’d just like to point out that the thing that looks like a microwave is actually a combination bread maker/toaster oven, its great.

Don’t worry about the kitchen looking a bit crappy, this is after all essentially a batchelor’s pad, the house on the Coast is more like a family home and is really quite nice.

Since I posted the picture of the ingredients, I’ve been busily ingesting substances that if I had kids I’d try to dissuade them from having (ok! I’ve been drinking whiskey), and as a result I’ve pretty much lost my tenuous grip on reality. That might explain why would I be writing about cooking beans.

But I’ve got to tell ya, the aroma is unbelievable! Not only is it the best smell that’s ever come out of my kitchen, it transports me back to Southern Ontario to the first time I ever ate home made baked beans. One day I’ll tell you about all the processed foods I was subjected to as a kid in Australia.

Oh I forgot to mention why I’m making such a big deal about it. Well the thing is, this is the first time I’ve made beans with all the right ingredients. The beans I’ve made in the past have been made with whatever I had on hand in an ad lib manner. I can’t get molasses where here but managed to get some on the Coast recently. Now I’ve got the magic ingredient and have even followed a recipe, the difference in smell is amazing.

Before…..

This is what I’m cooking for dinner tonight:

Actually it will be tomorrow night because I have to soak the beans first. Hey, I just realised looking at the picture, I did the all tiling that’s visible. I hope to have an ‘after’ pic in a day or so.

Why I don’t waste wood.

My fire is very efficient, and the wood I use is only from dead trees and doesn’t cost anything. And yes, I only have to go 100ft to get to where all the good wood is. So why am I so stingy about how much wood I use? Well that answer lies below…..

These are two of the four bulls that have been in this paddock for the past 4 months. Yep you guessed it, the same paddock as the wood. Now, admittedly there’s 2 thousand acres (not mine) that I can get wood from, but I like this paddock because I just take a wheelbarrow and go get it, everywhere else I need to hook up my trailer and drive to where it is.

I know they don’t look too dangerous because they are polled Angus (i.e., bred without horns), but what they are is 2 tons of muscle and attitude. Right now they’re not too bad because they are separated from the breeding stock, but they are lightning quick when they get annoyed.

I have gotten firewood while they’ve been around and its OK, but you do have to be aware that they are there. I usually wait until they are on the other side of the paddock before I go in, and for the last 4 weeks I’ve been burning wood from a dead tree on my property.