• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

During….

“So, tell me, why do you have a blog? Is it to plumb the depths of human emotion, discuss the the meaning of life? Or are you more involved with politics and wish to discuss pressing world issues?”

“Nah, I just like to put up pictures of dinner being cooked.”


The beans are bubbling away in the black pot, I’d just like to point out that the thing that looks like a microwave is actually a combination bread maker/toaster oven, its great.

Don’t worry about the kitchen looking a bit crappy, this is after all essentially a batchelor’s pad, the house on the Coast is more like a family home and is really quite nice.

Since I posted the picture of the ingredients, I’ve been busily ingesting substances that if I had kids I’d try to dissuade them from having (ok! I’ve been drinking whiskey), and as a result I’ve pretty much lost my tenuous grip on reality. That might explain why would I be writing about cooking beans.

But I’ve got to tell ya, the aroma is unbelievable! Not only is it the best smell that’s ever come out of my kitchen, it transports me back to Southern Ontario to the first time I ever ate home made baked beans. One day I’ll tell you about all the processed foods I was subjected to as a kid in Australia.

Oh I forgot to mention why I’m making such a big deal about it. Well the thing is, this is the first time I’ve made beans with all the right ingredients. The beans I’ve made in the past have been made with whatever I had on hand in an ad lib manner. I can’t get molasses where here but managed to get some on the Coast recently. Now I’ve got the magic ingredient and have even followed a recipe, the difference in smell is amazing.

8 Responses

  1. Okay, now you have me hooked.

  2. I make a 15 bean soup that is rocket fuel.!

  3. LOL Had to come read your post since you can’t blog at the blogging chicks carnival. My co-hort, the Grrand Wazoo can’t blog either. He’s a great cook, too! You should have a Blogging Cook’s carnival? Oh wait… men cooking beans? Nevermind.

  4. Wait! I didn’t mean the Grrand Wazoo couldn’t blog. He’s got great things to say! Our readers love him, I just meant he couldn’t blog at the Blogging Chicks carnival. Not that he’s that upset about it. LOL

  5. Hey Pete! Why didn’t you say something. I would have sent you some Molasses. Just ask when you need something!!Yeah! You are getting some carnival traffic! I hoped it would work! 🙂

  6. beth: there’s something fishy about your comment.pamela: I don’t really think 15 beans would be enough for a decent meal ;)t: I’ll be reading your stuff just as soon as I finish here.julie: thanks for the offer, and the traffic, its definitely more fun when someone reads your stuff.

  7. t, I tried to have a look at your blog but the profile is set to private.

  8. The blogging chicks got me curious. I KNOW better than to blog when I write! OH, MY, GOODNESS, I’ve written emails before I wish I could take back, but they get a laugh when the person opens it (I, on the other hand, cringe with embarrassment). Since I’m a responsible mom Christian blogger (she says with a sigh), and my young kids read me…I behave. Thinking on coming up with a double-naught secret blog where … I throw responsibility out the door (not the convictions, mates, just the responsibility) ;)I’ll be baaaacccckkkkkk.

Comments are closed.

