• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

About Music.

I’m just loading some music onto my computer with iTunes (great program but not real intuitive) so I can play them on my iPod Nano, oh did I mention I’ve got a Nano? Probably did, how could I forget to mention having an iPod Nano somewhere before now?

All jokes aside, it got me thinking about music. so here’s a few random things about my music experiences.

The best live performances I’ve seen were Jethro Tull followed closely by Led Zeppelin. Jackson Browne was the best solo performer with a backing band and Louden Wainwright III was the best solo performer.

Worst live performance was Pink Floyd followed by Little River Band. Lou Reed was somewhere in between good and bad depending on the song.

Most drunken performance was David Crosby and most unusual venue was Crosby Stills and Nash on the outfield at Candlestick Park after a Braves v Giants double header, that was a long day!

The first album I owned was A Hard Day’s Night by the Beatles. The artists I have the most CDs of are Van Morrison(12), Dr. John(10), Steely Dan(8), Little Feat(8), Traffic(8).

Favourite singer/songwriters are Bruce Springsteen, Joni Mitchell, Paul Simon, Billy Joel and Steve Winwood.

Favourite Southern Bands are Allman Bros, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Marshall Tucker Band and the guy who introduced me to it in 1974, Charlie Daniels.

Favourite female singers are Katie Melua, Sarah MacLachlan, Reba McIntyre, Joni Mitchell and Judy Collins.

Favourite male singers are Bruce Springsteen (only with the E street band), Steve Winwood, Steve Forbert, Jimmy Buffet and Jackson Browne.

Bands always on my playlists, Dr. John, Steely Dan, Little Feat, Allman Bros. Never seen on my playlists are Bob Dylan and Rolling Stones.

A song that grabbed me by the shirtfront and said “this is the direction rock should go” was Rosalita by the Boss. A song that set me on a long term relationship with Southern rock was South’s Gonna Do It a Again by CDB. Two songs that can make me misty are A Case Of You by Joni Mitchell and Jeff Buckley’s version of Leonard Cohen’s Allelujah. Though I must say I liked his old man better, Tim Buckley’s Greetings From LA is a great album.

Music I just can’t stand: Angry black men with buttcracks and gold front teeth talking about their ho’s with music blaring in the background . Something that may surprise: I think eminem is extremely talented and like his work.

Anyway that’s about it off the top of my head, I’m sure I’ve left significant stuff out but that’s the way it goes. If anyone wants to turn this into a quetionnaire, you’re welcome to it.

Labels:

Time for my analyst’s appointment.

Having a weekly session with an analyst is extremely helpful in working through issues and putting your life into perspective. Problem is, by the time you’ve paid for it, there’s no money left to go out and enjoy life, or buy food, or gas up the car.

This is where a best friend comes in. Of course it helps if they have majored in psychology(who the fuck came up with that word! Every time I use it I have to cut and paste from wiki!) like MBF has, I didn’t but MDW did and after all this time something is bound to have rubbed off, so I can hold my own.

So here’s what you need: a really (and I mean really) close friend, the time allocated to work through any issues, the patience to listen, the willingness to to talk, a good deal with the phone company (we are talking international calls here, to upstate NY and vice versa, as we take it in turns to call) and a setup like this…….

You’d be amazed the difference a cordless phone and a headset can make. It becomes just a conversation and not a phone call, you’re free to do what ever you want, heaps of times I’ve cleaned the kitchen during a conversation (vacuuming is pushing it a bit).

Anyway, its off to the shrink’s so I’ll see you all later.

More cooking adventures.

This is about the thing with the white lid.

I don’t recall ever seeing one of these in America, although that’s not to say that they aren’t used there. We call them electric frypans and they are great because they use much less electricity than an oven.


You just plug them into an outlet using this power cord. The temperature control is part of the cord and that bit plugs into the frypan.

One thing they are particularly good for is pancakes, as I can make six at a time. But they also do other things…..


They do a fairly good job of making a roast. You can get the vegetables browner by putting in either oil or fat and cooking them longer but I like them this way. By putting them in later and closing the vent on the lid it’s almost like they’re steamed and that’s supposed to be better for the heart.


This was an exercise to see if I could cook two chooks at the same time. The other thing I like about it is that MDW gave it to me for Christmas a couple of years ago.