• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

Back in Time.

You’re lucky to be getting this post, I had just finished it and Blogger bought the farm before I had saved it! Anyway, because I’m an outcome driven kinda guy, I’m going to labouriously recreate it just for you guys (and me of course).

Seeing as we’ve been taking a trip down memory lane the last couple of days I thought this was an appropriate picture….

I came across it last night as I was scanning some old negatives looking for subjects for future posts (I found a few, not many). Unless you’ve been on another planet for the last 50 years, you should recognise this as the same kind of car Dr. Emmett Brown drove in Back to the Future, otherwise known as the DMC-12 (or just the De Lorean as it was the only model ever produced).

What you may not know however, is that despite the De Lorean Motor Company being in Texas, the car was actually made in Ireland. Another bit of trivia is that John De Lorean was also responsible for creating the Pontiac GTO in response to the massive popularity of Lee Iaccoa’s Mustang.

Then of course there’s that whole FBI entrapment thing. So, as I was proofreading this (before blogger ate my post the first time), I noticed the car parked behind it was actually our Mercury Capri, so here’s a picture of it….

When I was looking for a picture of the Capri, I found this….

This is a picture of both our cars parked together, the little ladies Mustang (a derogatory lable often given to the Mustang Ghia) has a fascinating story of its own that I will definitely tell soon.

8 Responses

  1. Is that a 1978 Mustang II Ghia? I had one just like it.

  2. Is the Mustang Ghia the same thing as a Mustang II? If not, which came first? Just curious. My first car was a Mustang II and I remember the front of my car as closely resembling the front of the Ghia in your picture. My Mustang II had a rust colored exterior with cream interior and a manual 3-speed transmission.

  3. *two fingers in mouth* wheeeeeeeooot *whistle*”HEY man posters!!! HERE is the Man post. Its all about cars!!! whooohoooooooo. Calling all commenting men! ……….. come and getter!!”Hey maybe you WILL get some man comments WT!!But guess what?? I’m totally a Ford girl so I LOVED THIS POST WITH PICTURES TO BOOT!!!I can believe th angst about blogger swallowing your post becuase it had done it to me and I feel like weeping.I like the profile picture change.Did you do anything extra special on your actual B-day yesterday just for you??And I LOVED the trivia about the cars, especially the De Lorean, who woulda known it was made in Ireland!!!Thank you so much, I enjoyed that post.

  4. Okay, I am a car nerd! Some of my family had a body shop and salvage. I grew up looking at car magazines and studying them. So I knew a little of the DMC-12. Mainly because I LOVED the movie Back to the Future. The ones to follow weren’t to great though. Can’t wait to see the men post to this one. 🙂

  5. I knew about the DeLorean… and in ’82 John DeLorean got busted for over a million dollars money to finance cocaine. I don’t think I have any pictures of my cars. Between marriages I had a car that I raced once in the ET’s. (390 engine, 4/floor, solid lifters, forged pistons and oversize cam)Scared the behjoosis out of me and I never did it again.

  6. pamela, that’s what the reference FBI entrapment was. Ultimately he was aquitted after convincing a jury that he would not have done it if the FBI hadn’t come to him with the offer in the first place. It was a precendent setting court case that changed the rules for how law enforcement bodies operated.

  7. I drive a mini-van and my first car was a Grand Prix……I usually know cars by their color, not their make and model (but I can spot a Delorean when I see one, used to pass one every day on my way to work and I always thought “Back to the Future).

  8. Noice cahz.Sorry – a lame attempt at an Aussie accent.My first car was a Mustang too! Well, it wasn’t exactly a Mustang Ghia and it wasn’t exactly a classic Mustang either. But it was a Mustang.

Comments are closed.

