• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

This is what I was doing.

Its funny how sometimes accidents produce the best results. The other day I did a funny post about Robin. The whole thing just happened, I was trying to get the pictures below when I took the one in the other post.

These are a couple of pictures of Bentley, he could sense a thunderstorm. He gets really scared with thunder and lightening, he can sense it up to two hours before is starts and he works himself into a state of panic. It’s really pitiful to see, so much so that even I can’t derive any pleasure from it.

100_1451

For some reason he like to put his head between the wall and the speaker, he’ll just lie there trembling until I moved. When there’s actual thunder he won’t let me out of his sight, actually sight is the wrong word given that he sticks his head behind a speaker. More accurately , he won’t let me out of his presence, wherever I go, he goes.

100_1447

This is the shot I was after. The other thing he does is he sits with his face against the wall. When I saw him doing it, I went to get my camera. As usual he followed me, so when I came back to my armchair I had to wait until he went back to his phobia. It was while I was waiting that I was amusing myself looking at things through the viewer of the camera, and that’s how I got the hairy Robin picture.

100_1446

This is an extra picture that I really only put in because I was checking out a typepad thing, but it illustrates his anxiety. He only drops his jaw like that when he’s either really exhausted from running, really hot or really scared. You can cross out the first two.

In the next couple of days I’ll be posting about my Typepad experiences. Stay tuned.

9 Responses

  1. Aww, poor pooch. At least storms don’t catch you by surprise. My black lab doesn’t mind storms at all, but my mom’s dog is like yours – terrified and hiding. (Know what? It’s hard to type and hold a sleeping 4 yr old at the same time. He wouldn’t go to sleep but your blog did the trick, LOL 😉 I’m too lazy to take him upstairs to his bed. And he’s so warm and cozy and cute. I guess we should both go to bed. See you tomorrow.)

  2. Poor Bentley!! We used to have a dog that would hide by the fridge trembling. Nothing would calm her down.

  3. My rotty didn’t pay much attention to the weather.

    Is Bently in pain from the pressure change? He could be super sensitive. Beagles have extra sensitive noses don’t they? Maybe he was hiding in the corner cuz you had your shoes off! 😀

    I think I told you that a “dog whisperer” comes into my work place. She charges $50 an hour to visit your pets. I might ask her about the thunder thing.
    Not that I’m saying she’s for real – HOWEVER, my co-worker had her come to her house. The dog whisper ran her hands about 1/2 inch away from the fur all over the dogs body and said he had cancer. My co-worker took her dog to the vet.. and he had cancer.

    When I was a kid our dog would run back and forth in the pasture barking at and chasing the thunder.

  4. Yeah it’s really sad to see him in a state of high anxiety. None of the other three animals have a problem.

    Pamela – I don’t think there’s any physical discomfort, just emotional. You’re right though, they do have very sensitive noses so that may be how he is picking it up.

    How come this comments entry box is so damn skinny???

  5. Poor Bentley. One of my Boxers, Junior, is afraid of storms, too. He’s tries to get all of his 75 pound body in my lap. Looking forward to your Type Pad stories. Do we have to pay for these classes you are giving?

  6. awww poor baby.. i have a black lab like that… she can’t stand storms, she is fairl good size, so when she tries crawling into your lap you get a lap full ya know?… bentley is adorable..

  7. That’s what I do when there’s a storm.

    Not really.

    If you ever get googled for “hairy robin pic” please alert me to any potential stalkers!

  8. Poor Bentley – that is how my dog Zeus reacts to Firecrackers.

  9. Oh my god. That is so frickin cute. I know he’s scared, but oh, so cute. Oooh ooh oooooh.

    Yes, I know I’ve been in a cave. Sorry for the late commentary. 😉 I didn’t forget about you.

Comments are closed.

