• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

Another little visitor

100_1492Yesterday the dogs were going crazy out by the side fence. I thought that I may have had visitors (of the human kind), because that’s where they usually park.

But when I went to check all I saw was (hey that’s a palindrome) the guys barking like mad at something on the other side of the fence. This picture was taken by leaning over the fence (and aiming the camera at the subject whilst pressing the shutter button), this post seemed a bit boring to me, sorry about the dorking off. It may be hard to make out what it is so I’ll include a bigger version.

The holes you can see were dug buy this little guy, and for some strange reason he is trying to get under the fence to where the dogs and cats are waiting for him.

These cute little fellas are called echidnas, they are like a small porcupines but without the nasty habit of shooting their quills, I’ve had to take a dog to the vet’s after a porcupine encounter and it’s not pretty.

100_1491

**Update: I couldn’t get a picture of the little guy’s face, this is a defensive position, so I searched the net for you guys and found a picture that shows what they look like. Ironically it’s from the UC Berkley site….

Echidna_1

8 Responses

  1. Palindrome…made me lol, oh, so random.

    Does this not-so-warm-and-fuzzy creature have a face? What would the boys have done with him if he tunnelled under the fence? Looks like a freak of nature to me. I don’t see how they reproduce :O)!

  2. Wow! Palindrome – HA! Here’s another one for you:
    “Was it a cat I saw?”

    P.S. I had to look up Mondegreen – and you were right! Is that like the Jimi Hendrix lyrics: “Excuse me while I kiss this guy”?

  3. hmmm can’t believe he was trying to get under the fence… poor guy must have been lonely.

  4. I can’t say I’m fond of outdoor creatures. yikes.

  5. It took me a bit to see him. Little bugger blends right in!

  6. Ahhhh, so cute. But those quills are nasty looking. Glad he can’t ‘shoot’ them. We just watched Over the Hedge this afternoon.

    Not sure why I felt compelled to tell you that.

    Anyway.

    *crickets chirping*

    Ciaó
    ♥Pam

  7. Okay, that’s creepier than its back. *shudder*

  8. reminds me a bit of a hedgehog.

Comments are closed.

