• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

Now I get the picture!

The real title for this post is actually "Another Techie Post", but they can’t all be called that.

I’ve done some investigating and the news is both good and bad. The good news is that the photos sorta kinda do come across when you migrate to TP. The bad news is that only the HTML references and not the actual photos come across, that makes sense really.

What this means is that your posts will be exactly as they were in Blogger, and don’t forget, the photos you upload in blogger don’t go into the actual post, they go into a directory called… http://photos1.blogger.com/blogger2/and the name of your photo. When you import the old posts into TypePad, all that is imported is the HTML reference to this location. A similar thing with photo storage happens in TypePad but I won’t bore you with the details.

So, as to the question of why aren’t my photos showing up in TypePad? Well they actually are, but it seems that in a final effort to make our lives miserable, blogger is not always available, so when blogger is being its usual nasty self, the photos won’t be available and therefore will not show in the post. I have recently checked all my old imported posts on a day when blogger wasn’t having conniptions and they were all there. Still, I think I’ll port them over eventually.

Hope that helps.

7 Responses

  1. I took your advise and am posting all “small” on blogger.

    Your “get the picture” give me another reason to forestall any decisions about changing. One more thing to have to find time for.

    Pet bently & buddy for me.

  2. yep….I’m with Pamela on this one.

  3. Okay I’ll take your word for it.

  4. Does Pamela mean “all small” pictures? Why does size matter in this instance?

  5. Wha? Heh? Que? Quoi?

    I’m just going to take your word for it 😉

  6. Robin, the smaller the picture, the quicker the page loads. Then only those who really want to have a closer look need click for the larger pictures.

  7. I wondered (thanks for the answer). Do you know my question about what happens in Blogger after 300 posts??? Do the early ones go “poof”? Yikes!!

Comments are closed.

