• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

Willow’s Big Adventure Pt3

Before we continue,  a bit of background.

I just thought I’d bore the shit out of you all by prattling on about the technicalities of mining. If you’re in a hurry, don’t bother reading this, it doesn’t have that much bearing on the story, but it will explain some of the terms used later.

I’ve found some pictures to include, they’re not mine (I found them on the net) but they are pics of what I’m talking about. And if I had a camera at the time, my pictures would have looked just like them.

There are two main type of mines:

  • Open Cut: Generally used for cheaper substances such as coal, iron ore and bauxite, where a lot of dirt has to be moved. As the name implies, they are just big holes in the ground. The exception to this rule is the Argyle Diamond mine which is not only one of the largest in the world, but it’s open cut (it’s also only about half day’s drive from where this story takes place)
  • Shaft: There are a number of different types of shafts, vertical, decline and longwall among them. Except for longwall (which is used for coal) shaft mining tends to be used for precious metals and gems.

Kalbould_headframe_mt_charlotteThis particular mine (a nickel mine) was what’s known as a Vertical Decline shaft. That’s where there is a shaft sunk straight down (like a well) with a corkscrew like shaft angling down and orbiting the vertical shaft. At certain points the decline shaft connects to the vertical one so that the diggings can be dumped into the well so they can be hauled to the surface. This is done using a headframe like this one to the right. Although this is from a different mine (it’s a gold mine actually), I did work at this one too, so I can say that they are pretty similar. By the way, the photo is from the Mt Charlotte mine in Kalgoorlie.

LhdbucketupThese aren’t dinky little shafts like you see in cowboy movies. The decline shaft is used by some serious machinery including trucks and bulldozers. And the vertical shaft uses a bucket that holds 50 to 100 tons ofBoomer dirt. This bucket features prominently in a future episode.

The one on the left is a front end loader used for dumping stuff in the vertical shaft, while the one on the right it a driller. Holes are drilled and explosives are packed into them, then the face is blown up.

Now the the lifecycle for this type of large scale mining goes something like this:

  • The Speculators raise money for exploration
  • A team of geophysical surveyors map the geology of the area
  • Exploration drilling is done where the map shows promise
  • If something is found, the exploration shares are exchanged for production shares (more money raising) and a construction crew is sent to the site.
  • A township is established for the miners and their families, near the site but far enough away that they aren’t affected by the mine’s operations.
  • At the same time, the mine and auxiliary above ground plant (crushers, hoppers, washers etc) are constructed.
  • The mine is commissioned. (thorough testing leading to acceptance by the owners).
  • The construction crew leaves and the mine goes into operation.

Camels_ripples047jpg_a
I was part of the construction crew. During the construction, eight people died (including one mine accident that killed five). It was also the time I received a burn so bad that is severed my calf muscle (I’ve mentioned this before), soon you’ll find out how i did it.

This is pretty much what the terrain looked like, that red dust is an absolute bitch, it gets into everything. When you wash your clothes the water looks like chocolate milk. Years later I would wash something and the water would take on a reddish tinge and I still have tools that have a red dust patina.

So, the next installment will be about life in the camp.

8 Responses

  1. I actually got to visit a coal mine (but did not go down into the mine itself)…it really is amazing and much more modern than most people think. However, it still is incredibly dangerous…ok..waiting for the next part…

  2. It’s 11pm here, yawn, and that was just the bedtime story I needed.

    JK, I did find it interesting. The mention of your injury woke me back up. Ouch, that sounds like it really hurt.

    That bitch of a red dust looks so beautiful in the picture.

  3. The dust is pretty!
    (of course I say that all the time around my house.. haha)

    But I think someone brought a T-shirt a few years back from a visit to AU with that dust used to make the design.

    And I have been to a coal mine, too. At Transalta, Centralia WA. But it wasn’t deep in the ground – and it was reclaimed and covered as they moved along the ground. HUGE MACHINERY
    they moved the top soil and then put it back.

  4. I found it all interesting 🙂

  5. How interesting! The whole world of mines is something I know nothing about. I can’t imagine a bucket that would hold that much dirt! Wow.

    The thought of spelunking or mining, however, makes me break out in a cold sweat. Underground tunnels and me? Not good companions.

    Can’t wait to hear more…

  6. Great post – I know that in some mining operations, they use some chemicals that my husband’s company sells as lubricants for those big diggers.

    now I am quaking in my boots – severed calf muscle, huge bucket, and 3000 volts – OH MY!

  7. Why am I thinking of Mars all of a sudden?

    PLEASE tell me it wasn’t your underwear you washed YEARS later ;).

    Somehow I don’t think your “camp” stories are gonna be ANYTHING like mine :/. Holding tight for Part, what? Are we already on #4?

  8. I want to see a picture of you after you came out of the mine. Pretty please with sugar ontop

Comments are closed.

