• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

Turning over a new leaf.

You know, for the last couple of days, seems like every blog I’ve gone to is thanking all and sundry for either being nominated for an award or for being awarded an award. The list of nominees and winners almost exactly matched the list of people being thanked, which in turn almost exactly match my list of readers.

The one blogger conspicuous by their absence was, wait for it, yep you got it; me! Now I was a bit down in the dumps at first, thinking that I just didn’t write as good as everyone else, and I’m the first to admit my subject matter is a bit on the shallow side, and features dogs instead of kids.

But wait, that’s not it! I don’t deserve an award or a nomination not because I’m not any good, but because I’m not a woman! Well how’s that for supportive nurturing from my fellow bloggers. What a great example of inclusive solidarity by my colleagues in the blogging community, how heart warming.

Now hang on a minute, that’s being a bit harsh, women need to define themselves as gender first and ability second in order to gain an equal footing. Well I guess you’re right, or you would be if it wasn’t for the fact that the ratio of female to male bloggers is almost 3 to 1.

So how do I feel about all this? Let me put it this way, the opposite of love isn’t hate; it’s apathy, and as far as this goes, I couldn’t give a shit about not receiving an award from some arrogant, self appointed, self absorbed arbiter of style and quality in literature who represents, by their own admission, merely a subset of society. Hmmm seems to me that was a perfect fucking post.

Gee I hope I haven’t gone too far this time, I’d hate to be excluded from the Blogging Chicks, or the Perfect Post Awards, or Christian Women Online, or the Ultimate Blog Party, or Share the Love (but not with everyone) oh wait, I already am, never mind.

24 Responses

  1. Finish your mining series already……!

  2. Dear friend, as you well know, opinions are like arseholes . . everybody’s got one!
    Just keep writing for yourself and those who will like it, will appreciate it and comment on it – those who don’t . . who cares?!!

  3. Ummm…I didn’t get an award or a nomination for anything. Thanks. Now I’m really depressed.

  4. So many of the nominees and winners read your blog? I think that says something. I mean if these folks are so talented and they take the time to read your blog, you must not be so bad yourself. It’s one of those hidden compliments.

    I don’t know how long it’s been up there, but I just noticed the line on your header, “Heck is where people go who don’t believe in Gosh.” That cracked me up. Dh walked past with his coffee and just gave me an odd look, but I love it and I’m stealing it:oP

    Oh, and Robin forgot the rest of that line. Opinions are like assholes; everyone’s got one and they all STINK!

  5. no awards or nominations here.. lol

  6. Alright, Mr. Woe-Is-Me. Please notice that I have not put anything on my blog (maybe if you read my blog, you would see that you are not the only one not putting anything on their blog, or maybe you did but are too embittered). And, I am a woman and yet am excluded from some of the rolls.
    So I don’t even want to hear it, mister. Don’t make me turn this blog around.

  7. So much for the “I blog for the comments….my readers are so awesome” gist…

    Just keep posting those cute pics (btw…no kitty pics lately? What’s up with that? feline discrimination??)

  8. You were nominated for a BLOGGIE and VOTED FOR .. and I swore under my breath when you didn’t score.

    I’ve decided I’m going to create my own award and I’ll guarantee your win:
    The best CURMUDGEON.

    or..(thinking of the Hansman, McD and the Hubby) how about an award for the oldest blogger with hair.

    love ya Peter~~~~

    )

  9. The Perfect Post awards isn’t for women only. Anyone can be nominated.

    I didn’t ask to be nominated for anyhting, and I am as shocked as anyone that i was nominated considering the pathetic and depressing drivel I have posted lately.

    Why care if you haven’t won anything? I am surprised you care so much since you seem to believe it’s all nonsense anyway.

    I just deleted everything else I WANTED to say because it’s your blog, you can say whatever you want… not that you need my permission.

    I’m not chickening out, I just have nothing good to say on the subject. It probably would been deleted anyway.

  10. I nominated you for a blog award just this week.

    I read you because your funny and smart and I just love your dog stories.

    Pamela.. lets make our own blog awards. Catagory: Aussie who wears knee socks and Pirate hat for fun. He’d win that one for sure!

    Okay now.. go vote for me. =)

  11. Hey – have you been talking to Matt

    You two must be in cahoots.

  12. Hey…I’m a woman, and I didn’t get nominated! So it’s not all about sexual discrimination. Unless, of course, someone has figured out that I’m a gay man trapped in a woman’s body.

  13. WT, sorry you missed it. I threw a party on my blog today with “special” KoolAid and beergaritas. And you don’t have to be a woman or a mommy to attend; you just have to be able to criticize Meredith Viera (which you may, honestly, not be able to) or use the word “poopyhead” correctly in a sentence.

    Listen, when you get done with this particular “rant o’ the moment,” come on over. The beer is still cold, and the sarcasm is just your style!!

  14. oh dear don’t know what to say. except you write a great blog and who worries about awards (not any of us who don’t get nominated whatever our gender). keep smiling:)

  15. There are some 55 million bloggers. You know how many blogging cliques exist? You know how many awards people are giving out? It’s amusing.

  16. Yeah, what Matt said!

  17. What? You’re not a woman? When did this happen? I thought you were a hot Swedish chick with…..well, you know.

    I’m with Matt. And Vicki. And Pamela. And Stephanie.

    For someone who doesn’t have a uterus, you sure are funny – even when you’re ranting.

  18. Robin – The mining story will be posted next week.

    Erik – Is than your opinion? 😉

    Mary – You’re welcome, glad I could help.

    Jenni – Thanks but I’m still going to whine.

    Tonya – My condolences.

    Heather – Are you kidding me? I always read your blog, I just don’t comment much because your posts are generally very earnest and I don’t like to be glib. And yes, I am too embittered. I think it’s because I wasn’t breast fed.

    Pamela – Great! Another award I’m excluded form!

    Mert – Firstly I wouldn’t have deleted your comment. Second, I believe its nonsense because I care so much. Lastly, this is not a reflection on anyone who has been nominated or awarded anything, its a statement on exclusionism.

    Vicki – You blog whore.

    Karmyn – What? Talk to Matt? You must be crazy! The Mommy Bloggers have a vendetta out for him and I don’t want to get caught in the crossfire.

    Tigger – Despite the obvious attraction I feel to your gender situation, it is all about discrimination, you could be nominated, I couldn’t.

    Stephanie – I checked your blog late over here and there was no post, but then since I’ve been on the Coast that has been happening a lot, they must use a different server here.

    Chris B – If I could have that attitude to life, I wouldn’t need all the medication I’m on.

    Matt – Jeezus, what are you doing here?!? You weren’t followed were you?

    Finally to everyone – I know all this is just fluff, and if I really wanted an award I’d just award myself one. The issue really is about tribalism/feminism. I’ve spent more years than some of you have been alive being berated by feminists for their lot in life (being a misogynist doesn’t help much), yet here we are in the 21st century with women excluding men with monotonous regularity.

    Just ask yourself how you would feel if you were excluded from anything because of your gender, and if you say you’d be fine with it or that you could be excluded (unless you wanted to be a priest), you’re just kidding to yourself.

    Now for the good news, I went an took a whole bunch of photos yesterday so I’ll have some fun posts coming up when I get back to the bush. I can’t transfer them to this pooter or I’d do one now.

  19. Susan – At least you get me, wait, that’s not saying much, you get your kids too. (your comment came in as I was typing mine)

  20. I feel your pain. I’m excluded too, but in my case it’s because apparently people don’t care to discover “what rodent my cat has caught today” and they definately don’t want to see the pictures. I suspect it’s just pure jealousy. Of course, that can’t be it in your case since I haven’t seen any rodents here lately so it must be the woman thing for you.

  21. gee WT … I was thinking how great it would have been to be mistaken for a woman without having to suffer from PMS I don’t miss that..

    are you telling me you don’t have hair?? wha????

  22. I don’t give a damn about awards, and I found the mention of them all over the place kind of annoying.

    If you do want an award, I could make one up for you 😉

  23. Feels like forEVAH since I was here, lol, but since you were on the coast…and because I had company…blogging was minimal.

    Anyway, all I wanted to say is…WHY DO COMMENTS BY OTHER PEOPLE OFTEN GET ATTRIBUTED BACK TO ME? It’s not the first time that’s happened down under…!

  24. Ooooo, and n i c e…I put a little fire under your belly.

    (okay, I know me TELLING you to finish the mining series has NOTHING to do with you writing it…but I am glad to know it’s coming up).

Comments are closed.

