• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

It’s always the way!

Blogging can reflect real life sometimes. You know, like when your place is a mess and unexpected visitors, who have never been there before, show up (and I don’t mean Mormons, they would never see the inside of my house anyway).

That’s a bit like what happened today, I was reading Jenny’s conversation with her Australian hating husband and looking at pictures of her daughter desecrating our flag (shit, there’ll be some weirdos showing up from google searches now, or worse, maybe the cops). While I was laughing I suddenly realised that she had linked to me and thought "Oh no! My blog is a mess! I should post something nice in case new people drop by." (The last few days have not been the best example of the fun that the Dingo can really be).

So in an effort to make the place look a bit better here are three photos that I took on the Coast, and one that is from here. The blue sky in the first shot only happened as I was about to leave.

100_1867
This is our house on the Coast (while proof-reading this, I realised I don’t call it our ‘home’ on the coast). I know that when most people in Oz refer to their ‘house on the coast’ they mean a two bedroom holiday house that they go to for weekends (a bit like that cabin in the mountains), but in our case  technically (for taxes etc), it’s our main residence.

100_1789
This is where it is, I’ve put in a little pink arrow to point it out. This photo is taken from a lookout that’s a five minute drive from our house. Oh, and Tiff, that’s all rain forest behind us.

100_1782
If you turn around and face the opposite direction, this is what you see. There’ll be more shots of this over the next few days, complete with a map because it’s a kind of strange geographic feature that needs some explaining.

100_0553a

And finally for those who haven’t already seen it, here’s where I’ve spent most of the past three years. The picture is taken from a plane in case you’re wondering. It’s just on the edge of the Liverpool Plains so there is a bit of shape to the skyline (actually it’s the Western Slopes of the Great Dividing Range), but another 10 minutes West it’s just like looking out at the ocean, except without the water.

So, I hope this gives a nice impression of my blog for a change.

22 Responses

  1. In my mind I have three visions of Australia –

    Man from Snowy River scenic hills.

    Hot arid Desert from “The Dingo got my baby” (did I get the wording right?)

    and – cool underwater reefs from Crocodile Hunter.

    Thanks for the new visions to add to my mind. The coast looks absolutely lovely (and not what I would have envisioned as rainforesty).

  2. just like looking at the ocean just without water…uhmmm…then it wouldn’t be ocean, now would it???

  3. I didn’t know there were hot pink UFOs in Austrailia. That’s sweet, and you’ve got a nice house with nice views.

  4. GORGEOUS! SPECTACULAR! What a beautiful view! WOW! (Can you tell I’m impressed?) Really, it’s like a postcard.

    P.S. I was really hoping YOU would be able to tell us what “Our home is girt by sea” means. Girt? That’s a word? Maybe your house on the coast is “girt by sea.”

  5. OK I totally hate you now for having a view like that.. totally jelouse.. so not fair.. I look out my door and see corn fields.. how uninspiring 😛

  6. For my Monday post, I was going to link-reference “the debate” as OTHER recent events in the blogosphere…and your readers will recognize what I mean anyway…but I decided to let sleeping dogs lie.

    Glad the more benign side of Peter is showing off.

  7. Careful Peter…. showing us these pictures is like an open invitation to come check it out ourselves.

    I was already impressed with your tropical back yard pix from a while back.

  8. Great pics! From someone who lives in the very center of flatness, I must say the hills are spectacular! Since this the first time I’ve posted here I wanted to tell you I appreciate your sarcastic, dry sense of humor. Unless of course you don’t have a sarcastic, dry sense of humor and then, well, I suppose I’m a dumbass. I like to believe it’s the former of the two options. I’ve been accused, way too often of being overly sarcastic. There’s no such thing, right? Right!!?

  9. Great pics! From someone who lives in the very center of flatness, I must say the hills are spectacular! Since this the first time I’ve posted here I wanted to tell you I appreciate your sarcastic, dry sense of humor. Unless of course you don’t have a sarcastic, dry sense of humor and then, well, I suppose I’m a dumbass. I like to believe it’s the former of the two options. I’ve been accused, way too often of being overly sarcastic. There’s no such thing, right? Right!!?

  10. Jenn – Hello and welcome. Yes you’re right, it’s supposed to be a sarcastic, dry sense of humour, but it doesn’t always work. Boy I’d hate to meet me if it wasn’t a dry sense of humour and I really was the cranky old prick I make out to be, come to think of it, I’d hate to meet me anyway.

  11. ‘My house on the coast.’

    If I didn’t know any better I would think you were an uppity snob.

    I’m currently sitting on the Australian flag… it’s ALL your doing.

  12. Those are great pics!! I have always wanted to go to australia.. now I not only want to go to australia but I want to go to your house!! lol

  13. I thought “Waltzing Matilda” was the national anthem! Then Karmyn had to go educate me.

    Sorry. Yeah, that was lame. Just jealous, ya know.

  14. 2 houses. Hm. How’d you get that?

  15. Your home is incredible. Seriously.

    The Queen would like to schedule a tour.

  16. Did I ever mention that I am your long lost niece and I plan on visiting today?

  17. How beautiful.

    I had never “thought” of what Australia would look like, so this is my first picture of it. I’m jealous of all the green trees and your lack of snow.

    Next week I will not be posting because I will be at WT’s house on the coast.

  18. Wow, that is beautiful. Do you have enough bedrooms for all of us? Because I know Marnie’s going to get us a fabulous deal on flights.

  19. I keep looking for the Sydney Opera House in your pictures…because I’m a dumb American;).

    Hey, I just thought of something…do you realize you’re doing a public service for Australia? Or has that been your ulterior motive all along? Seriously, I love seeing your corner of the universe.

    And do your readers understand that you have NO interest in their showing up on your doorstep? You might wanna let them know you don’t play well with others…!

  20. Fabulous photos! Thank you for sharing!

  21. You’re too funny, cleaning up for the visitors. :O) I’m thinking if that’s the case that you should put out your good Dingo, kind of like putting out your good china.

    But really, when I say good, I mean the one that isn’t eating a Barbie with her panties around her ankles, not good as in “the other one is better”. :O)

  22. Wow beautiful photos and the house looks fab. thanks for sharing but please show us more.

Comments are closed.

