• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

Contest Part 2.

Well, here we are at the business end of the contest. This time there are only two questions but they are reasonably difficult.

Question 1.  What is the name of the Jolly Swagman?

Question 2.  What have German tradesmen got to do with any of this?

~~~~~ Now, do you want to see what you’re playing for? ~~~~~

100_1963As promised, the major prize is a complete set of Aussie dollar fridges magnets. And before I get any stupid questions from my particularly nit-picky readers (if that applies to you, please read the answer, otherwise please ignore), "No, there is no $4.50 note. That’s the price tag you moron."

These babies are so convincing, you could probably use them to  pay for your taxi ride from Sydney airport. That is if you could convince the Lebanese taxi-driver that Aussie money is now only three inches by one inch, and it is only printed on one side, and has a big old magnet on the other. Good luck with that.

But just to prove I’m not kidding here’s some real Aussie money (most of you have seen this already).

But wait, there’s more! Yes you heard right, not only to you get this worthless priceless collection of fridge magnets, you also get this….

100_1964

This has got to be the biggest tea towel I’ve ever seen, it’s almost half as big again as my normal ones, and it gets better…it’s real linen. I put the magnets there to show you the scale, but as I type this, I am realising that I haven’t done anything to show the scale of the magnets, so it doesn’t help anyway, d’oh! Suffice it to say that if you had a queen sized bed, this tea towel would probably hang over all the sides at once.

Good Luck guys!

20 Responses

  1. ‘Frenchy’ Hoffmeister,

  2. dispute between the shearers and their employer. The shearing shed on the property had been burned in protest at a wage agreement proposed by Queensland squatters

  3. that is my kind of linen tea towel

    My mom made tea towels, which were really used for drying dishes, out of old flour sacks.

  4. The flour sacks were made from cotton.

    I’m trying to win the first comment, the most comments, and the last comment award. (Yeah, I know, I just made that up)

    killing two birds at once, really, by practicing with my new keyboard. These have been out for years and I’ve just never been inclined to use one, much less buy one.

    I feel like I’m at the helm of the USS Enterprise. Lt O’Hura, except with A square arse.

  5. Also, since Karmyn is out of commission for a few days, I’m making up for her lack.

    I got a flu shot today – just in case.

  6. Pamela is far too “early bird” for me.

    Frenchy. He was the jolly swagman. Or was he Mister Tallyman?

  7. What Pamela said.

    Yes, yes, I know she’s got the right answer, but do I get points for guessing it all had to do with “Waltzing Matilda”? Well, it sorta did.

    Anyhoo, she’s right. (Ain’t she always!!)

    I’ll just have a beer. Thank you.

    Oh, and you’re overdo for posting new fuzzy baby pics. Thank you.

  8. Samuel Hoffmiester

    The term waltzing is derived from the German term auf der Walz, which means to travel while working as a craftsman and learn new techniques from other masters before returning home after three years and one day, a custom which is still in use today among carpenters.

  9. A)
    Still looking… lol..

    B) Although Banjo Peterson was also writing about this era of shearers’ industrial disputes in Queensland;
    the term also derives from German immigrants. German soldiers commonly referred to their greatcoats as “Matilda” supposedly because the coat kept them as warm as a woman would. Early German immigrants who “went on the waltz” would wrap their belongings in their coat and took to calling it by the same name their soldiers had used.

  10. We must be the only nation on Earth that made a hero of a fictitious suicidal itinerant worker,” reads a display in the Waltzing Matilda Centre

  11. My vote .. The Swagman’s name was Andy.:)

  12. I got one….Joseph Jenkins (I think..) took some digging around..

  13. In The Swagman’s Rest the man’s name was Bob.

    This has been an interesting exploration.

    Thank you!

  14. Everybody already has the right answers, but if I’m going to be consistent with my previous theory about this guy, his name is obviously Jim Bob.

  15. Oh, and he killed the German tradesmen, of course. That’s why he was hiding under that coolibah tree.

  16. Yeah! I wanted the tea towel!
    (And I can report Katie has done an audio post on her blog before and has a lovely voice and what seems to me to be an Australian accent. Go Katie!)

  17. laughing… Thank you Mary!

    However, to be calling my mixed accent, Australian , might be an insult to them.

    I loved the towels as well. Beautiful work!

  18. last comment?

  19. again….

    Whine

    sniff sniff…

    what if I cried?

Comments are closed.

