• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

Commenting problems.

Some of you may be experiencing problems commenting (I know I am). Plus there are also a lot of duplicate comments showing up, and I’m, pretty sure that you aren’t writing your comment twice.

Anyway, I raised a ticket over the issue and here’s what they suggested so far. This relates more to when you have trouble enterig a comment, and especially of you have been made to enter a WV, which TypePad calls CAPTCHA

What kinds of comments trigger the CAPTCHA?

Comments that meet the following criteria will trigger the CAPTCHA:

  • If the comment is posted to a weblog post that is more than 30 days old
  • If the comment was submitted too quickly after a previous comment from the same IP address and triggers a throttle
  • If the comment contains more than three URLs in the comment body
  • If information submitted with the comment matches TypePad’s comment spam blacklist
  • If the comment is posted in a definitely different language from that set for the weblog
  • If the comment was submitted from an open proxy

Not sure if this helps anyone, but I’ll pass it along anyway.

This has nothing to do with all the duplicate comments (which is what I raised the ticket about), that’s another issue that they are trying to sort out. TP seems to be hanging when you hit ‘publish’ for a comment, and those of you with broadband tend to hit it again, so it publishes it twice. I’m not singling the broadband users out, it’s just that we dial up people are used to delays so we don’t notice it so much and just sit and wait until it finishes(the story of our lives).

Update*** I just got this from the TypePad Status site (you can subscribe just like a normal blog)

Six Apart Status February 20, 2007 10:58 AM

By Six Apart

TypePad Service – TypePad Service is up.
Users may experience slowness while commenting due to high load. We’re
working to alleviate this problem currently. We apologize for any
inconvenience. TypePad Blogs – Blogs are up. TypeKey – TypeKey is up.
14 Responses

  1. It’s a TP issue only. I have problems on other TP blogs and always have. It’s typical though that they blame bloggers.

  2. dear willowtree. So it’s not my shite-y ukrainian server? that’s a first.

  3. hmmm..interesting. when i’ve been leaving messages in english, I always get WV asking me to verify I am human. today, I left a comment in Italian and it went through without a problem

  4. dammit…it did it again

  5. I had problems leaving typepad comments all day yesterday. Even with my crappy broadband provider I don’t usually have problems like that. Glad you noticed it too.

  6. TypePad is just trying to enjoy some of the controversy Blogger enjoys. If it keeps up, there’ll be a mass exodus to WordPress or Squarespace or heaven forbid…MYSPACE!

    Now THAT’S funny!

  7. i have been having troubles. i’m not alone. Good.

    I forbid My Space. No Way.

  8. I cringe every time there’s a hang-up (ever since my blacklist days). I’ve noticed typepad just been really S l o w of late.

  9. Karmyn – I subtly mentioned to them that I left Blogger for a Pay service because it was as slow as TP is now.

  10. HEY! Long time no see or comment! Glad I “found” you again… I have always enjoyed reading what you have to say.. sure missed ya too… OH for goodness sake — dry off those tears… its not that mushy!

  11. HI 🙂

    Thanks for the comment on my blog. I am in the process of updating it now. *LOL* 😀

  12. No problems here. However, you are the subject of my latest post.

    Bask away, my friend!

  13. My comments are always so good you need to read them twice.

  14. Sounds like everything is “up” at TP…EXCEPT the two things bloggers crave–speed and efficiency :/.

Comments are closed.

