• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

The Dingo’s Jukebox

My good friend and sometime tormentor Melissa has tagged me for a music meme. I’m supposed "List seven songs you are into right now. No matter what they are.
They must be songs you are presently enjoying. Then tag seven other
people to see what they’re listening to."

**All the links are to Wiki, it’s not that I believe it’s the best source of info, it’s just easier. (Do me a favour will you? Leave your comment before you disappear off into the linkosphere, I lose so many comments that way!)

Now I don’t want to be a pain and not play by the rules, but the truth is I’m not so much as a ‘song’ type of guy, I’m more of an ‘artist’ or ‘album’ guy. So I’ve decided to compromise and list seven artists that are always only my playlist and try to pick a song for each that is worth listening to. They are not listed in order of preference, but in order of when I discovered them (some I’ve been playing over 30 years now, let’s see if Boney M still holds up after that long!):

  1. Van Morrison. George Ivan Morrison is the first artist (for me anyway) to show that there could be sophistication in rock music, his blending of rock instruments with jazz and blues influences was particularly noticeable in the double live album "It’s Too Late to Stop Now". From this I have chosen Caravans. Van was the soundtrack to my first years in the workforce (I started work at 16).
  2. Bruce Springsteen. Like the Man, the Boss showed me that there was more to rock than singing loud. The E Street Band made music than could sometimes have a physical effect on me. I don’t think anyone has ever made me feel the same way that Clarence Clemons did. The album I choose is "The Wild, the Innocent and the E Street Shuffle", and the song is Rosalita. Bruce was the soundtrack to my last year at home (I left home at 17).
  3. Little Feat. In a further development of my taste in music, Little Feat introduced me to both Cajun Music and Syncopation (although the Cajun influence came mostly after Lowel George’s death). While not a typical LF song,  I like Willin’ from the first (self titled) album. Little Feat were the soundtrack last my year as an apprentice.
  4. Steely Dan. From rock to jazz in one easy lesson. These guys knew how to weave words and music into something really special, and they were clever too, just have a look at the cover of Katy Lied. I think I’ll have to choose Black Cow as a favorite song, but "Royal Scam" is my favorite album. Donald and Walter were the soundtrack to my first job in the bush.
  5. Jackson Browne. Most people I know complain that he always sounds like he’s crying about something, but he’s one of the few musicians whose lyrics I actually listen to (I’m more of a melody guy). You can’t go past the Pretender from the album of the same name. JB got me through my time in the mines.
  6. Dr. John. This is a strange one, I actually discovered Mack Rebennack before most of the artists on this list, but I didn’t really have much of an appreciation for him at the time. He has since become my all time favourite artist, and I won’t insult him by choosing a favourite song. If you want a good deal, get the Live at Montreaux DVD. Dr.J has been my soundtrack for many years now.
  7. As I was writing this, I realised there is a lot of music that I’m really into, so No. 7 is an honorable mention to just a few of the artists I listen to regularly: Charlie Daniels, Traffic, Paul Simon, Allman Brothers, Doobie Brothers, Dixie Chicks, Asleep at the Wheel, Rickie Lee Jones, Thin Lizzy, Warren Zevon, Howard Jones, Emmylou Harris….the list goes on.

Oh shit, I almost forgot! I have to tag someone. Ok here goes:

  • Robin: It’s time you branched out from pee posts.
  • Pamela: I’m interested to see what someone my age is listening to.
  • Kila: Do you even get a chance to listen to music?
  • Claudia: I know you’re busy with school so maybe a post you don’t have to think about might help.
  • Vicki: I’ve always wondered what horny, redneck, Christian women listen to.
  • Your name goes here ____________: because we’re all interested.
26 Responses

  1. I just posted a few days ago a list of 10 fave albums … not quite “7 Songs I’m Into Today”, but maybe there are some things you may like here too … by your other stuff.

    Cheers

  2. Okay, I’m a teensy bit younger than you, but my musical taste is MUCH closer to yours that…Jenny’s. And she’s one of my best friends! Who knew?!

    If we were on the same continent, we would totally hang out. In my pub room. And drink Fosters. And listen to Van Morrison and Dr. John.

    Yeah, Man. Good times.

  3. Van then man, yeah!

  4. Red Ink – Howdy.

    Stephanie – Sounds like a plan to me!

    Beccy – I’ve seen him live a couple of times, and at least once when he wasn’t too drunk to sing. Same for David Crosby. Oh, I’ve also seen Jackson Brown live too.

  5. You have a great taste in music! Lots of fun! 🙂

  6. Love Van Morrison. He is always on my play list. And Little Feat, Jackson Brown, Allman Bros, Doobie Bros, TRAFFIC!. V. good list! Throw in some Sergio Mendes, Three Dog Night, Slightly Stoopid, Marvin Gaye and KT Tunstall. Oh I could go on.

  7. At least, I recognize your music except for Little Feat…interesting choices Willowtree

  8. Tormentor? Tormentor? Yeah okay, I guess.

    Great list WT, very well thought-out. I see some stuff I heard when I was growing up. My mom was a huge Springsteen fan.

    But no Justin Timberlake? I don’t know about this.

  9. I’ve never heard of Dr. John. I just looked it up on iTunes–he’s pretty groovy. thanks!! (and melissa also got me…my list is up)

  10. I knew I liked you. “Sad Eyes” and “Somebody’s Baby” are among my personal faves.

    I guess I’ll be “your name goes here.”

  11. You have a very good taste in music (my opinion).

    I LOVE 6 out of the 7. That includes Little Feat. I actually had 1 CD (lost it somewhere along the way)

  12. LOL on how you characterized Vicki! She and her sex fests! (Is that proper grammar? Cause it sure doesn’t sound like prop-pa gram-ma).

    I’ve been tagged…twice…while I was asleep at the wheel. I’ll letcha know when it’s up.

    Oh, yeah, I think there’s a pun-in-hiding in how you characterized me and my p. posts :).

  13. Hey~ the hubby and I went to a Steely Dan conert at THE GORGE
    http://www.hob.com/venues/concerts/gorge/
    a couple of years ago.

    Someone at work passed on box seats, and we were so idulged!!

    I”ll try and get a post up later this week. Mine won’t be very interesting like most of yours.

  14. I like your list. (I was never a big Springsteen fan, though.)

    Do I get a chance to listen to music? You bet. My 4 yr old and I dance every day, and not just to The Wiggles!

    I’ll come up with a list for you.

  15. Thanks for visiting my revived blog. I am also part of a team blog, Mama Said, Papa Said. You have visited and commented there too. Thanks for the support.

  16. Pamela – Did you actually mean “Mine won’t be very interesting like most of yours.“?

  17. LOL I had the same problem when I was tagged for this meme;) That is a great list.

  18. I’ve never even heard of some of these people.

    Dr. John? Is that a real person?

  19. Jenny – Now I know you’re just kidding. As for Dr. John, yes, he’s real. Real old.

  20. I think I have already told you that I think you have great taste in music. 🙂 But I will say it again…you have great taste in music. I would have a hard time listing 7 songs, but I might try.

  21. Wow! Those are great Artist choices! After your comment on my blog, I was expecting Dancing Queen, Favorite Things, Doe a Dear, The Copacabana, and Mandy!

    I don’t get how a country which has such a great cynical sense of humo(u)r can be so sappy about its music choices – I mean – there isn’t even a respectable Metal Band that I could find in Australia (and I love the place generally!) What gives? White Room was the closest thing I could find!

  22. Fantastic list and finally a list of artists that I not only recognize, but actually listen to regularly!! Van Morrison has been a fav for years and I love Dr. John.

  23. Oh man you summed me up in one sentence.

    Title of my new blog will be “Horny Redneck Christian Woman.”

    I am now going to listen to your tunes………

  24. I knew the songs of Van Morrison but I didn’t know who sang them. I now have someone like you, brown eyed girl and days like this.

  25. I’m shocked! Totally speechless. Gold stars to all your choices. I could just copy and paste if I did this meme. Oh…you did forget Tom Waits and one of my all time favorite songs, “Parents” by Budgie.

  26. ok: Jackson Browne. 1974 a friend talked several of us into putting up cash and throwing a concert headlining Jackson Browne, in Kalamazoo Michigan. You could do stuff like that in those days, even if you were a bunch of toasted hippy freaks with crapola jobs

    No one came, we lost the money. Well some, but not enough. (I was in for $50, and that was a month’s rent, LOL).

    (to console us?) He ran around in circles after the show and dropped trou we fell over laughing – but then, we were pretty high.

Comments are closed.

