• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

And you thought I was kidding.

Bca_badge_blogofalltimeYes that’s right, I was nominated, but I graciously declined. It’s "Best Everything in the Universe" or nothing, as far as I’m concerned. Who wants to only be the Best Blog of all Time? Hell I already am that!

The other day I mentioned in passing that I wasn’t nominated for anything in the Blogger’s Choice Awards (well, okay have it your way, I wrote a lengthy post about it). You may recall that there was absoposilutely no rancor involved, in fact I fully supported the situation, and further, I said that if I was nominated that I would decline.

Well it turns out that I did get nominated, and while I would probably have been chuffed if it was a real nomination (more on this later), I said that I didn’t want to be nominated and I’m nothing if not stubborn to the point of stupidity a man of principle. So, that being the case, here is the reply I received from Jamie Gillespie this morning in response to my request to him:-

Hi!
Thank you for contacting the Blogger’s Choice Awards! I have removed your nomination at your request.
Jamie Gillespie
Developer, Blogger’s Choice Awards

See, it wasn’t simply a ploy on my part to garner sympathy in the hopes that some kind soul would nominate me for something (anything). As I told you, I actually I don’t want to be part of all this gratuitous award giving that seems to be plaguing the blogoshpere of late, and it’s not just because I don’t get nominated for the girlie stuff either.

Now back to the nomination itself…

Given that it was for the "Best Blog of All Time" (a rather humble title don’t you think? and one that neatly fits my self image), I would have expected a somewhat flowery and complimentary description, along the lines of… "This well written blog is full of wit and wisdom. The superbly crafted essays manage to capture the essence of what blogging is all about. Readers are randomly regaled with side splitting observations about life, transported to a world of adventure through startlingly descriptive anecdotes, or shown the sublime joys of pet ownership with some of the most expressive pictures seen anywhere on the internet. The cast of characters are as endearing as they are amazing. You owe it to yourself to read the Dingo!"

Well, at least that’s what I would have liked to have seen, however you may prefer what was actually written… "If angrily ranting against nothing was an artform this guy would be Van Gogh.  He’s a bellowing, angry, raving lunatic and I fear for the safety of the world if he doesn’t win this award.  Seriously, the guy is a total nutjob.  You should totally vote for him."

Two guesses as to who nominated my blog and lavished such high praise upon me. My two guesses would  be Melissa or Jenny (Marnie is way too nice to say such hurtful things about me, yeah sure).

Here’s a clue…"Alright, you roguish hooligan.  You’ve just been nominated for Best Blog Ever In The History of the Whole World.  And not only did I nominate you, but I also voted for you.  Why?  Because you’re annoying.  Also, because you do crack me up on a regular basis". – Jenny.

That was from the comments of the post that I wrote about not being nominated. I thought she was just bullshitting so I didn’t even bother to check out the site, it was only when Marnie told me about it that I went to see for myself. Turns out she was telling the truth! Ha ha ha ha!  Jenny you wascal! Touché.

22 Responses

  1. angrily ranting about nothing? did I miss something? or nothing?

  2. I would never say something like that about you, dead friend.

    I just stick to “Poster Boy for Underachievement”.

  3. I MEANT DEAR FRIEND.

    Not dead.

    Yet.

  4. Hmmmmm….Freudian slip or just wishful thinking? I think the latter….

  5. Maybe I’m just dense or haven’t been reading long enough, but you just don’t seem as angry and rantish as you and everyone else describes you. . . you make me laugh waaaaay too much for me to think you’re so grumpy. Not that you’re docile as Hindu cattle or anything, for sure.

  6. Sabrina – It’s a bum rap I tell ya! Just look at my sidebar: five animals that I rescued from perilous predicaments, yet everyone thinks I’m a bad guy.

    Well screw ’em is all I’ve got to say. That, and I think they’re all a bunch of bastards anyway. Oops, did I say that out loud?

  7. I may have called you a raving lunatic but at least I didn’t say you were dead, which I can only assume is some sort of horrific Canadian insult.

  8. WT! You gotta love a man who is “stubbborn to the point of stupidity”. I SOOO identify with that. Congrats on the nomination and the decline. You are WAY too cool to be compartmentalized to something as specific as “best blog of all time”.

    So, now I have a favor to ask. Please tell me why you can’t read the new template. It looks fine on my computer. Is it cause the words in the actual posts are too light? My husband told me yesterday that the pictures seemed really dark. Specifics please.

  9. Congrats on declining the nomination!

    I don’t even pay attention to the contest stuff. I have a hard enough time remembering to not put my underwear on backwards in the morning.

  10. Some people just don’t have a sense of humor do they? I loved your description.

  11. I had all these sarcastic and snide remarks done and lost it.

    Probably a good thing because I’m not very good at it on paper. Much better in person

    I’m heading over to Jenn’s to look at her template.. just to show that two pair of “old” eyes are better than one

  12. I had all these sarcastic and snide remarks done and lost it.

    Probably a good thing because I’m not very good at it on paper. Much better in person

    I’m heading over to Jenn’s to look at her template.. just to show that two pair of “old” eyes are better than one

  13. Just PLEASE promise us that if you decided to cut off your ear, you’ll post photos.

    Even a nice one of Buddy gnawing on it.

  14. Dang – and I went to all this trouble signing up and signing in just so I could vote. Now what do I do with my new Blog Awards prescription? HUH? What do you say about that?

  15. Canada is definitely snubbing you. Also Texas. California may start snubbing you on the basis of your penis email comment.

    ‘Penis email’ will get you all kinds of new readers. You’re welcome.

  16. “docile as Hindu cattle”

    How funny!

  17. Damn get it right WT Im a bitch not a bastard;P

    Your to funny for words ya know?

  18. Oh, I’m with Tigger. I want photos of Buddy chewing the severed ear.

  19. OK, then, congratulations on your un-nomination.

    Typical male behavior–you want something until you actually get it, then you don’t want it anymore 😉

  20. lmao… too funny!

  21. Well, I hate to tell you but you really do deserve this award: http://writer-mom.blogspot.com/2007/04/and-now-presenting.html

    And you have been nominated for it by an anonymous individual. You know you want it. You know you want the glorious glow of electric sex gleaming on your sidebar.

    If you want it, go to my place, hit “e-mail me” and you’ll have the code in a jiffy. C’mon. Who wouldn’t want this award? It’s the most unawardlike award ever.

  22. Nancypants – Wow, what an honour! I get to decline 2 nominations in the space of a week. BTW, you’ve really tarted your site up since last time I was there.

Comments are closed.

