• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

Happy Blogiversay to me!

Dv6114laptop2
This kinda snuck up on me a little bit, in fact I was doing another post for today when I realised that my first blogiversary had rolled around, so I had to scramble to come up with something. In keeping with my usual high class prose crap, I did a quick picture and I’m also including my first post.

I won’t make you click on a link to see my auspicious first post, it’s right here…

23rd June 2006
What the Hell do I do next?

I’ve been reading a few blogs lately and judging by the comments,
everyone seems to have a blog of their own and I was feeling a bit left
out. So I got the brilliant idea of getting one myself.

Jeez, its harder than you think. First off I had to come up with a
name….sounds pretty simple but think about it; if its really stupid,
people will think I am too. If its really clever, people will expect
clever entries.

So that’s why I chose something middle of the road.(for those of you who haven’t been here long, it used to be called "Once Upon a Blog"). I just hope I can remember all the stuff I entered (username and password) so I can get back in. 

[There were 2 comments but they were added some weeks after I wrote it.]

Pretty good don’t you think, showed some real promise I did! Even after a year it’s still good fun. I’ll never forget the first comment, the first time I saw my site linked to on someone else’s blog, the first time I saw my name in a blogroll, the first time I got more than ten comments in one post, my first award, and the first time someone attacked me for something I wrote.

Thank you all for making this so much fun (I don’t think I’d do it without you), I really enjoy all the laughs I get from reading your witty, and sometimes just plain crazy, comments. And if you usually just lurk, that’s ok too (but a bloggiversay comment/wish would be nice).

For those interested in stats: 450+ posts, 7500+ comments and 40,000+ visits (that’s not as many as it sounds; 25,000 were me fixing typos and 14,500 were people googling  swear words).

60 Responses

  1. Wow, Happy Blogiversay WT!

    You are really special, I just love the stuff you write, I start my mornings with your cerebral humour every day. And those critters, just too cute for words. Sometimes I wish I was you.

    (Ok, I just had to say those things in case you guys forgot)

    PS, Hey Robinella, did you notice the semi-colon in my very first post?

  2. HAHA – I wondered how on earth someone could have beaten me to comment since you’d only just published it.
    Happy blogiversary, you loon.

  3. with a blog title like yours, who wouldn’t HAVE to stop by to see whats up?

    happy blogoversary, glad you’re out here in the blogosphere!

  4. i’m glad to have been part of your first year, if even by a few days.
    happy blog day, buddy! more videos! more serial narratives! MORE PRESENTS FOR YOUR LOYAL YET RECENT READERS!!!!!

  5. Look at that cute, innocent face! Hard to believe what would be in store for that little tyke on Marnie’s blog.

    Happy Blogiversary! You and your posse are among my favorite folks to visit each day. (When are you going to update your posse?) Here’s to another witty year…

  6. Congratulations!

    I’m a new-ish reader and am very happy to have found your blog. Love the pet videos, the glimpses of Australia, the laughs and look forward to the next year(s)…

  7. Aww. Happy B Day WT. Hm. I guess I should have posted a shameless plug for comments when I had my blogiversary in April. Ah well, I’ll just leave you a shameless comment for the both of us. I read you every day, you nutty Aussie.

    Now go put another “r” in “blogiversary”.

  8. Aww. Happy B Day WT. Hm. I guess I should have posted a shameless plug for comments when I had my blogiversary in April. Ah well, I’ll just leave you a shameless comment for the both of us. I read you every day, you nutty Aussie.

    Now go put another “r” in “blogiversary”.

  9. Happy Blogiversary! Your blogiversary is the same day as my wedding anniversary. You’ll be able to sleep tonight knowing that.

    Seriously, one of the best blogs I’ve ever read.

  10. Happy first Blog Day WT, and many more to come.

  11. ps: I’m so disappointed you’re not announcing how you’re pregnant with Marnie’s baby. Why keep hiding?

  12. Ditto Melissa’s p.s.

    I remember that post…but, yes, I read it some time after you began. lol, not long after, because that was back in the day I was a blogging babe (as in the picture you posted here, not as in I’m as s.m.o.k.i.n.’ as Delta Burke 😉 ) and I actually read most of your archives. ** sigh ** those were the days, my friend….

    It’s one of my kid’s birthdays…Guess that means I will always remember your blogiversary.

    Glad our paths have crossed…it’s been an experience :). The good kind.

  13. Happy blog aversery

    guess I would be in the just plain crazy comments!!!!

  14. Happy blog aversery

    guess I would be in the just plain crazy comments!!!!

  15. Melissa – I’ve got at least another 3 months before it shows, so for now it’s our little secret.

  16. Happy Blogiversary Big Guy! From me and Buddy.

    PS. Buddy wants you to know your butt smells good.

  17. Yeah, whatevah.

  18. Well crap, where have I been for the last year. I’ve obviously missed much based on the previous comments. Now I have to spend all waking hours going back and rehashing your bloglife. Good times, I tell ya, Good times.

    Happy Blog Day!

    Here’s a response to you from my blog re: RePete’s Fetish. If he keeps “it” in “those”, I can safely say, we won’t have grandchildren while he’s a teen!

  19. Well crap, where have I been for the last year. I’ve obviously missed much based on the previous comments. Now I have to spend all waking hours going back and rehashing your bloglife. Good times, I tell ya, Good times.

    Happy Blog Day!

    Here’s a response to you from my blog re: RePete’s Fetish. If he keeps “it” in “those”, I can safely say, we won’t have grandchildren while he’s a teen!

  20. Way to call him out, melissa! SNORT!

    Happy Narcissist Day, WT! Wanna tooth?

  21. Happy Blogiversary indeed! Congratulations to you. I came late to the party. Story of my life. But you have a great blog and I won’t be leaving anytime soon now that I’ve found you. Here’s to many mores years of blogging. Or. Until the next great thing comes along anyway.

  22. Wow, Happy Blogiversary WT!

    You are really special, I just love the stuff you write, I start my mornings with your cerebral humour every day. And those critters, just too cute for words. Sometimes I wish I was you!

    Seriously, congratulations on a year of blogging and here’s to many more!

  23. Beccy – LMAO! Now that’s clever.

  24. Beccy – LMAO! Now that’s clever.

  25. Happy Blogiversary.

    I can’t remember now, how I first found you and but once I did I was hooked. You are so entertaining and of course the menagerie of pets is always a pull. Looking forward to the next year (s)!

  26. Happy 1st willowtree – I recognise all those feelings about early days blogging. Thanks for visiting me and I’m looking forward to reading your stuff… 🙂

  27. Hi Willow!!! I’m BACK!!!! Happy Blogiversary!!!!

  28. Hi Willow!!! I’m BACK!!!! Happy Blogiversary!!!!

  29. I wanna hear what Beep and Beau and Belle have to say about this…they’re strangely quiet…

  30. (Sung to the tune of the William Tell Overture)
    Happy blogiversary, happy blogiversary, happy blogiversary…
    HAAAPPY Blogiversary
    Happy, happy, happy, blogiversary
    Happy, happy, happy, happy blog-i-ver-sa-reeee
    Happy blogiversary
    Happy blogiversary
    Happy blogiversary
    HAAAAPPY Blog-i-ver-sa-RY!
    (You should have seen me singing this at my computer to make sure I got it right:o)

  31. There once was a fine Bloggin’ Bloke
    Everyday to the multitudes he spoke
    He is crafty and sly
    Of his 1,000’s of fans, one is ‘I.’
    Sometimes I wonder what he does smoke…

    Happy Blogiversary Peter.

    We started out a little rocky. I remember profusely apologizing to you in September 2006.
    You were one of my first commenters in August by saying, “I’m probably your first International Commenter.”

    It’s been so much fun reading and conversing with you. Thanks for all your help and advice. I’ll never forget the personal e-mail you sent when Junior died.

    Looking forward to another year of blabbing widja, DubYaT ! 🙂

  32. Congratulations!

  33. Congratulations!

  34. Happy Blogiversary Peter! 🙂

    May it be a fantastic day/night!

  35. Thanks WT!!

    Thanks for the laughs
    Thanks for the insight
    Thanks for the critters
    Thanks for the surreal
    Thanks for the surly
    and Thanks for the Joy!!

    Keep it up!! Many lives are now being lived viacariously through you and your menagerarie.

    BTW….if there is such thing as reincarnation, I want to be a member of your zoo…

  36. Happy Blogiversary!! Man, look at you, even as a tot you were pushing buttons and into computers!! 🙂 I can’t believe it’s been a year already!

  37. Awww! Your blog is one year old! How sweet! Congratulations and happy Blogiversary!

    (I’ve changed my template, title, url, content, etc… so many times I can hardly remember when my real blogiversary date would be. I think August of 2004… or thereabouts…)

  38. Awww! Your blog is one year old! How sweet! Congratulations and happy Blogiversary!

    (I’ve changed my template, title, url, content, etc… so many times I can hardly remember when my real blogiversary date would be. I think August of 2004… or thereabouts…)

  39. You are really special, I just love the stuff you write, I start my mornings with your cerebral humour every day. And those critters, just too cute for words. Sometimes I wish I was you.

    Ummm, ditto! Who could have said it better, really?

  40. Happy Blogiversary, WT! What did we every do before we had Blogs? Thanks for brightening my days.

  41. Well hell Happy B-Day! Thanks for the laughs. You have such a fine way of making the crude, rude and bodacious sound wonderful.

  42. Hey WT, just so you know, I’m the Kelsie in the above comments. I hate when my multiple personalities start posting for me.

  43. booo what happened to my comment? Obviously, your bloggiversiary isn’t special enough for my comment want to survive the journey from text box to your comments section, willowtree. Sorry 😦

  44. booo what happened to my comment? Obviously, your bloggiversiary isn’t special enough for my comment want to survive the journey from text box to your comments section, willowtree. Sorry 😦

  45. Happy Blogiversary!!! Time sure does fly. I look forward to another year of reading your Blog. I start my day off looking at a Dingo eating your Barbie. 🙂

  46. You had me at “A Case of Gender Discrimination.”

    Happy Blogiversary, WT!!!

  47. You had me at “A Case of Gender Discrimination.”

    Happy Blogiversary, WT!!!

  48. OKAY – I’ll delurk and say Happy Blogoversary. Thowwy – but I’ve been lurking/reading more than commenting in the last week or so. I got shit to get done and it’s piling up on me.

  49. Happy Blogiversary. I just started blogging on the 9th. Husband Sirdar has been doing it for awhile and I wanted in on it. I too, had a problem choosing a name, which I explained in my first post. I can relate to the firsts you mentioned. I have visited your a few times. Thanks for sharing.

  50. Get out of here! I’m older than you in blogyears? Awesome. That means I can totally bullie you around. More than usual.

  51. Oh and happy blogiversary.

  52. Best wishes for all your future blogging years and congrats on making it through your first!! Very clever picture of yourself, but, alas, I am more taken with your K-9 shot! They are so very, very cute!!

  53. A very merry blogbirthday to you!!! To YOU!!!!

  54. What!!??!!

  55. I can’t believe I read this and didn’t leave a comment!!

    I swear I’m getting senile!!

    Jenni in KS stole my song….

    But you know you’re awesome and we all wanna be you, right?!

  56. I can’t believe I read this and didn’t leave a comment!!

    I swear I’m getting senile!!

    Jenni in KS stole my song….

    But you know you’re awesome and we all wanna be you, right?!

  57. YEAH!!!! Hope you had a happy one! 🙂 Thanks for keeping us laughing and coming back for more for a year now.
    {{Hugs}}

  58. Happy Bday, WT! Many, many more!

  59. Congratulations! You have a great blog. I’m glad to have found it.

  60. Happy Blogiversary!!!

Comments are closed.

