• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

A little light entertainment

The bus trip ended up being very tedious, and I don’t want the story to get that way too, so we’ll just take a short break now. Instead, here’s a clip of Bentley the world famous duck hunter.

Those who have ever owned beagles will nod their heads in agreement, and those who haven’t will shake theirs in incredulity when I tell you that he did this for six hours straight. It would have been longer if I didn’t drag him out of the water.

What was really funny in a twisted perverted sort of way, was how all the ducks (they were mostly ducklings), just collapsed on side of the pond once I finally dragged Bentley away. They had to keep swimming as they were too young to fly. Anyway here goes…

He never got any of them, as you can see when he got close to them, they just dived under him and came up behind him (for six hours).

**Updated: Mary asked if I was worried about crocs.  While there are freshwater crocodiles in Australia, they are much further north than where I am, plus they are more common in rivers, this is just a little pond. If you want to learn a bit more, this may help. And to put things into perspective, this clip shows the pond and where it is in relation to my place (that’s my hous in the background)…

37 Responses

  1. i love bentley!

    riley has some beagle in him, too. but he learned from boscoe to be afraid of water. border collies aren’t natural water dogs.

  2. 6 hours! Dont you have to worry about crocs in the water or am I just a dumb american?

  3. Mary – LOL!! No Mary, there’s no crocs in the little pond at the back of my house. They are much further north.

  4. Eeew, stinky wet beagle ears. Almost as bad as stinky wet scottie ears.

  5. The little flag (tail) on a constant wag
    and a snoopy grin the whole time… what a dog!!!!

  6. Bentley isn’t a duck hunter…He’s a DUCK.
    Remember:
    M R Ducks
    M R Not
    S M R
    C M Wangs
    Wall, I B
    M R Beagle Ducks

  7. Oh my god, that tail is the best thing in the world! He looks like a submarine. You know, with a head and a tail.

    My mom had a golden retriever who used to dive into the pool with us and swim around. The kids thought that was so normal, but now we have a chow mix that freaks out if you turn on the water to fill up her dish, and the kids don’t get what her problem is. I keep trying to explain water dogs vs. uh, land dogs, but the imprint of that golden swimming around was too strong.

  8. Oh Bentley – you are a riot.

    I’m surprised he didn’t get pooped out and collapse on the bank after 6 hours. Sheesh – even my dog Zoe gives up eventually. (of course, she is lab)

    I love the tail – I wonder if he uses it as his rudder?

  9. Oh Bentley – you are a riot.

    I’m surprised he didn’t get pooped out and collapse on the bank after 6 hours. Sheesh – even my dog Zoe gives up eventually. (of course, she is lab)

    I love the tail – I wonder if he uses it as his rudder?

  10. LOL!! Dog Heaven I suppose!! The tail wagging says it all!!

    Where were his assistants Buddy and Belle?

  11. Is Bentley able to coach Kobe in swimming? He is 5 and a half and I don’t think he could swim to save his life.

  12. I can’t believe no one else asked…did you WATCH him for six hours? or leave him and come back?

    I’m headed to the beach for a week…not sure if I’ll take my lappy (and if I do, if they’ll have wi-fi easily accessible), so I might miss the next installment of the “Bus Ride Chronicle”.

    Durn.

  13. p.s. YAAAAEEEE!!! THE &%$*!@# word verification is gone!

  14. p.s. YAAAAEEEE!!! THE &%$*!@# word verification is gone!

  15. But I bet it’ll be back up if I keep commenting in a row…or maybe they’ll just kick me out a while…

  16. Nope, it didn’t require me to word verify. I came back to tell you because 1) I knew you’d want to know, and 2) to artificially inflate your comment count.

    You’re welcome.

  17. Loved both clips- it’s really neat to get to see your countryside, scenery, etc…

  18. Loved both clips- it’s really neat to get to see your countryside, scenery, etc…

  19. i loved watching how your pup’s tail wagged continuously as he swam and followed the ducks. i imagined his content and joyfullness during his pond adventure.

  20. Interesting to see your land, wow so much space! Bentley’s tail is hilarious – bless him.

  21. I never was good w/geography. So I guess where you live is more like Maryland and the crocs are in Florida. Right. Makes sense. At least that’s how I work it out in my head.

  22. LOL your kids are to funny for words!!! and to cute;)

  23. Robin…do the ‘words’ OCD mean anything to you?

  24. I’m just loving how Bentley’s tail acted as his rudder. He’s so adorable. I totally want to dognap him.

    I want a Beagle. We have a Border Collie. My husband said, “No, you don’t want a Beagle. They are cute but they are thick and they grow really long nails so you end up with a clatterer. And they bark a lot – and deep hollow bark.”

    Please say it ain’t so. Coz I’m totally gonna get one. Bentley has stolen my heart.

  25. i’m first in line for bentley, sorry, tiger lamb girl. he’d be a great pal for riley. they’re probably cousins! he could teach him to swim…..

  26. OMG, I just noticed the picture to the right of this with your three canine children. That is probably the sweetest thing I have ever seen.

    Oh and that is exactly the kind of country I’ll be looking for, except on the other side of earth.

  27. Hey, did you get hi-speed internet finally? I remember you saying you couldn’t see these vids, and now you’re posting??

  28. I can’t watch the videos owing to my unbearably slow dial up, however I do have a question. I once saw a dog running around in the Georges River and every time this dog moved water would squirt in a big jet out of its bum. No, I’m not kidding. The first time this happened I giggled and wondered what the hell was going on but I was *amazed* when it kept going for at least 15 minutes. It was beyond understanding. I couldn’t work out where all that water would come from… Sure, it was a big dog, but… yikes. Now, seeing as you have 3 dogs and judging from the water in the first frame of these videos I assume they swim, I was wondering if you have ever seen this phenomenon before or knew what might cause it? It didn’t look healthy or normal to me, but hey, what do I know, I’ve never had a dog who swims.

    Also, the URL from your RSS feed doesn’t seem to point to your actual blog (or that could be my awful dial-up I suppose). It tried it a few times over the last few days then gave up and typed the url I remembered in the address bar.

  29. He must have been one water-logged dog by the time he fiished up WT.

  30. Ooops “finished”

  31. LOL, he is a riot!

    My black lab would absolutely love living there. However, the pond would be empty and we would be eating a lot of duck 😉

  32. Swampy, those aren’t words, those are L.E.T.T.E.R.S. and I guess it takes one to know one ;).

  33. Swampy, those aren’t words, those are L.E.T.T.E.R.S. and I guess it takes one to know one ;).

  34. Swampwitch,
    Can you believe my daughter works at MR ducks selling t-shirts.

  35. In between laughing like an idiot, I had fond flashbacks of our beagle, Nootka, whose tenacity was… erm… legendary.

    p.s. I love how Bentley’s tail is wagging as he swims – did it do that the entire six hours, too?

  36. So priceless! That tail wagging above water is the best. Like a little propeller that keeps him going LOL Poor Bentley though, as much as I don’t want him to catch a duck, after 6 hours I’m thinking he at least deserves a nibble.

  37. So priceless! That tail wagging above water is the best. Like a little propeller that keeps him going LOL Poor Bentley though, as much as I don’t want him to catch a duck, after 6 hours I’m thinking he at least deserves a nibble.

Comments are closed.

