• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

Fun Monday #23

Fun_monday_2This Fun Monday is brought to you by Jenni at Prairie Air. You know the drill, go there for the list, and the assignment. It’s about Memories of Summer. Sights, sounds, smells.

There’ll be a lot of reading this week so I’ll keep mine short (that’s not strictly true, it’s short because I failed miserably).

I thought with a week to work on it, this’d be a piece of cake. But for reasons that I won’t go into, when I set my mind to it, I realised that I don’t have an over abundance of happy childhood memories, so I’ve decided to do a list of random childhood vignettes that I associate with Summer. I’ve purposely not translated anything into American as these are my memories.

  • The intense sense of elation as you walk out of the last class of the year.
  • The sound of cicadas.
  • Christmas.
  • Walking to the local shop to buy a devon and tomato roll and a bottle of Tarax.
  • Going to the baths after school.
  • Eating fresh prawns on crusty bread rolls while watching Dr. Who fight the Daleks.
  • Playing chasings and cocky laura in the street until dinner time.
  • The first time you realise that the breeze is warm.
  • The 5 hour steam train ride to visit my grandmother.
  • Roller skating at the rink.
  • Walking to the beach for a bit of body surfing.
  • Climbing Blackwall mountain.

I guess that’s about it. I know, it’s pretty lame but at least I tried. Look on the bright side, you didn’t have to spend too long reading my post.

42 Responses

  1. Dear willowtree. I love devon and tomato rolls! Or just devon and tomato sauce. I miss the last day of school. I don’t miss school though.

  2. PS Does it feel weird writing this in the middle of winter?

  3. Ahhh, the sound of cicadas. Some people hate them — I used to think they were kinda musical. They always lulled me to sleep.

  4. I think they are great memories even though I don’t know what devon is? Well to me it’s an english county but you’d not fit that in a sandwich!

  5. “Eating fresh prawns on crusty bread rolls while watching Dr. Who fight the Daleks.” along with the others seem like very pleasant memories.

  6. “Eating fresh prawns on crusty bread rolls while watching Dr. Who fight the Daleks.” along with the others seem like very pleasant memories.

  7. I miss roller skating and the butterflies in the tummy wondering if someone was going to ask to hold your hand during the “couple skate only”. I also miss drive in movie theaters.

  8. i like the idea of a steam train, and at the end is gramma.

    i also like cicadas. nothing says hot midsummer nights to me like that roaring buzz.

    not lame at all, willow. brevity is the soul of wit, and all.

  9. I’m with you on the first three. What are devons, tomato roll, Tarax, baths, cocky laura ? Love prawns on crusty bread. Hoping you will take anyone of these on your list and post about it.

  10. I’m with you on the first three. What are devons, tomato roll, Tarax, baths, cocky laura ? Love prawns on crusty bread. Hoping you will take anyone of these on your list and post about it.

  11. I like this list. It does recall summer as a child. Kids don’t need much do they.

  12. I miss the sound of cicadas. They always relaxed me. 🙂 COOL LIST! 🙂

  13. I didn’t understand half of that, but you’re still awesome WT.

  14. cicadas. I miss cicadas.

    cocky laura? if you don’t want to translate, how about a separate post explaining?

  15. I think the list is great – (what is it about grandma’s waiting for you at the end of a trip that is just so dang nice?)

    But, you were speaking Australianese – what is Cocky Laura? What is Tarax? What is a devon?

  16. I love realizing the breeze is warm for the first time.

  17. Loved your memories. Especially tomato rolls(?) I need a recipe!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Happy FunMonday!

  18. Good list! Sounds like good memories to me.

  19. devon and tomato roll and a bottle of Tarax…
    ??????????????????????????????????????????????
    Darvon and Grenada troll and a box of Tampax?

  20. devon and tomato roll and a bottle of Tarax…
    ??????????????????????????????????????????????
    Darvon and Grenada troll and a box of Tampax?

  21. Prawns and Daleks what a great combination!! Exterminate!!

  22. Prawns and Daleks what a great combination!! Exterminate!!

  23. Sorry about the double post. Typepad is being mean to me today!

  24. You aren’t the only one lacking in happy childhood memories. That’s one reason I didn’t do this Fun Monday. My happiest summer memories are recent ones with my kids.

    Your #3, Christmas, caught me off guard, LOL. I’m trying to picture what Christmas would be like in the middle of summer. Some of our Christmas carols would be quite different, LOL. Sometime you’ll have to post about Christmas in summer.

    “The first time you realise that the breeze is warm.” I LOVE that! It’s such a thrill each spring.

    What’s in a tomato roll, besides tomatoes?

  25. I am glad you didn’t translate anything into “american” as I had fun looking stuff up!

  26. I like your list.. sounds great to me.. Mine was kinda short to… ifn you don’t count the pics;0

  27. I like your list.. sounds great to me.. Mine was kinda short to… ifn you don’t count the pics;0

  28. Kila: It didnt have to be childhood memories… it could have been anything, you still have to to join in.

    Willowtree: I enjoyed your short and sweet memories. When I was searching for my sound clip of Cicadas the first one I came across was the species from New Zealand… are Aussie ones similar to N.Z. ones? They are different than the ones I grew up listening to.

  29. “Playing chasings and cocky laura in the street until dinner time.”

    Are you sure we didn’t go to college together?
    Unfortunately, I HATE the sound of cicadas.

  30. “Steam train”? How old *are* you?

  31. I enjoyed very much this list of your summer memories. For us (Yankees) it would be fun to learn about those unfamiliar terms. I’m up for you blogging about it … the same goes for Beckie in Ireland.

    Games:
    I remember my mom coming out in the evening in a dress (she never wore pants until she was in her sixties) to play a game of baseball in the front yard – She could slam them!

  32. oh… no cicadas where I grew up. But we had frogs. They would serenade me to sleep each evening. To this day when I hear them, I start yawning and feeling nostalgic.

  33. oh… no cicadas where I grew up. But we had frogs. They would serenade me to sleep each evening. To this day when I hear them, I start yawning and feeling nostalgic.

  34. I love that my mind screeched to a halt when I read “Christmas” – the incongruity of summer and Christmas being in the same sentence was that weird for this northern hemisphere person.

    And I love that several of these I did not understand at all (devon and tomato? Chasings and cocky laura? Huh?? p.s. don’t tell me – I weirdly like not knowing). We speak the same language, yet not. How wonderful.

  35. Well you have certainly gotten my attention, as well as other’s. I would love for you to tell more – I guess I’m on my way to Google to learn what some of these things are!

  36. I still love cicadas. I never object to hearing them. My pets have been known to get lectured and reprimanded for snatching the odd one up to scarf.

  37. I didn’t participate in Fun Monday this week but I’m still visiting everyone. Your list was great and brought back memories of the last day of school.

  38. I didn’t participate in Fun Monday this week but I’m still visiting everyone. Your list was great and brought back memories of the last day of school.

  39. I know they annoy some people, but I actually like the sound of cicadas and crickets and frogs chirping and croaking late into the night. It’s very peaceful and relaxing.

    I love that you didn’t translate this. It makes it so much more interesting to hear it your way. And I love that Christmas is a summer memory for you:o) So, do schools run opposite vacation times to the schools in the U.S.?

  40. Jenni – When I went to school we worked on a 3 term school year. There were holidays in April, August and December with the main one being the December January break (summer). Now they have gone to four terms, so there’s an extra block of holidays in there somewhere, but not having kids, I’ve never paid attention to when it is, but I’d say its around June.

    Pamela – We have millions of frogs in Gosford, I love ’em!

  41. 1) Love that you didn’t translate what the heck you were talking about…but I hope you will in future posts…

    2) Not reading your other comments b/c blog time is VERY limited…

    3) The kanga bag is making the rounds on our vacation :)…so glad your big sis suggested that. 🙂

  42. Tarax sounds Toxic.

Comments are closed.

