• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

Who was that masked man?

A few of you have asked who that was singing on the CD in the background of the dog clip, although sadly not nearly as many as have asked me if I really am a Romanian slave trader (or worse, wishing I was one). And even more seem to have mistaken this blog for a Mills and Boon sampler! Ok, so I did use the word ‘romantic’, but geez, this is me we’re talking about! What I meant was down and dirty lust (don’t worry, I’ll get to it next week).

So for those who wanted to know, it was Eliza Gilkyson. But that’s not really typical of her music (however it is my favourite song of hers). She normally sounds more like this….

Now here’s something a little different. This first one is Xavier Rudd, a Canadian living in Oz. It’s worth watching just to see a white guy play the didgeridoo properly…

This next one is John Butler, an American also living in Oz. This one’s worth watching just to see a banjo used in contemporary music…

And finally, Peter, stop hitting the Post button!

22 Responses

  1. Thanks WT, all fixed I hope, I’m just gonna close the browser this time if it won’t let me go.

  2. I rather like the style of the first two, and I like the banjo in the third.

    Down and dirty lust? Sounds even better.

    BTW, are you really a Romanian slave trader? Do you wish you were? If I hit post as often as Peter, it will seem as if a lot of people asked you that. Would that make you feel better?

  3. think I’ve heard Amanda talk about xavier rudd

  4. Damn! I thought I would be the first to comment! It doesn’t pay to stay up late after all. Although I do have two cakes ready for tomorrow now. *And* I know what a digeridoo sounds like.

  5. this is a test

  6. My sister is a big fan of Xavier Rudd.

  7. My sister is a big fan of Xavier Rudd.

  8. My mind is reeling…First, I can’t get one Youtube to post, you have videos of your own and now three music videos. How much does it cost to call Australia and let you walk me through this? Second, I may just have to sit here and listen to the didgeridoo and banjo all night. I must go find those CD’s. Please tell me they sell them here. We have that blue didgeridoo, and I’ve yet to get a sound out of it. Lots of spit through it but no sound. Had someone come to my class when I taught and he played the didgeridoo for the kids. That circle breathing thing intrigued me. Third, what was your test?
    H-m-m-m-m. I never liked tests in school. Not even pop quizzes and now a test is in your comment section? Fifth? I forgot !

  9. Dillon learnt to play the didgeridoo at school, I just couldn’t do it!

  10. Okay, Xavier Rudd impresses the hell out of me, and not just because I’m Canadian, too. He had the circular breathing down, for sure, but playing guitar at the same time? Damn. Thanks for passing these along. Amd if you wanna be a Romanian white slave trader, that’s okay with me. I’m a live and let live kinda girl.

  11. I went to see John Butler just before he hit it big here. It was at a little place down south. Just this side of Wollongong. I think it was called the Yallah Woolshed. It was a fun night – we rented rooms in the B&B next door. Although A) I lost my tickets and had to buy 2 new ones and B) they sent me back to our rooms for ID before they would serve me a beer (at well over 30, go me).

  12. I went to see John Butler just before he hit it big here. It was at a little place down south. Just this side of Wollongong. I think it was called the Yallah Woolshed. It was a fun night – we rented rooms in the B&B next door. Although A) I lost my tickets and had to buy 2 new ones and B) they sent me back to our rooms for ID before they would serve me a beer (at well over 30, go me).

  13. Eliza Gilkyson. I knew that voice sounded familiar. She is all over the music we listen to, singing with others and on her own. Most recently I have heard her with Tom Russell. Thanks!

  14. Hi! Congratulations on your nomination in the Bloggy Hoss contest. We’re in the same category and I wanted to stop by and wish you good luck. I’ve enjoyed browsing your posts and will come back to visit often. Australia has always been on my short list to visit one day!

  15. Very cool! 🙂

    I will ask this too, are you really a Romanian slave trader? Do you wish you were?

    😀

  16. You are too funny. Thanks for visiting; sorry you caught me in bed recovering from my hysterectomy. Hanky panky is definitely out of the question! As the disclaimer in my profile says, if you don’t want to hear about my female troubles, run! It’s been a long, painful road to this hysterectomy, but I do talk about other things in my blog, I promise. Again, nice to meet you. Love your blog.

  17. I really like Xavier Rudd. I feel like I might have heard of him before. I love a banjo! My mom and brother both play. It’s a happy sound.

  18. I really like Xavier Rudd. I feel like I might have heard of him before. I love a banjo! My mom and brother both play. It’s a happy sound.

  19. Thanks for the new artists to check out. Rudd has a quality to his music like one of our locals, Dave Matthews Band. Not the same, I understand, but folksie and similar vocals.

  20. I much enjoyed the second and third videos! Thank you for sharing them.

    I’d never heard of a didgeridoo before. I had to Google it to see if it was a real word, LOL.

  21. rudd rocked the didgeridoo. have you ever listened to jamiriquai on “traveling w/o moving”… amazing didgi.

Comments are closed.

