• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

Fun Monday #25

Fun_monday_2_2This week’s assignment is brought to you by Tiggerlane and she wants to see our rides. Over the years I’ve had over 30 cars (not all of them winners), so I’ve decided just to show a small sampling of them. These ones all have something slightly interesting about them. If you want a closer look at any of them, you can always ‘click it to big it’.

1a

This ’64 Chev Bel Air was a great car! Leather upholstery, nice big V8 and best of all, I lived in the middle of NSW where you could drive 50 miles in a dead straight line in any direction. The car belonged to a farmer who got killed when he pushed his grain auger into a set of overhead lines (a more common occurrence than you would think).

1b
I drove this ’74 Chev Custom 10 from Omemee to Newfoundland and back to Sudbury. The car at the far left of the picture is an Oldsmobile Rocket 88. I was a passenger in it when it was totalled by a drunk driver in another car.

2a_3

2b
The one one the left (with the high top) was the first car we owned as a married couple (and the 3rd kombi I’d owned), the one on the right is the second VW camper we owned.

2c
And this is why I love VW campers so much. We lived in this one for 9 months as we travelled around Australia (waiting for my green card to be approved). This is far north Qld and that’s us in the foreground.

3a
The little ’74 Mustang in front is the car we drove non-stop (except for gas) from Cooperstown to Montebello. The  piece of shit Mercury behind it was lucky to make it to the end of the street without having a spasm.
Something you may find interesting, the 74 Mustang came with a 2.6lt Ford Cortina motor that was made in England.

4a

4b
The one on the left is a ’74 Toyota Crown, the one on the right is a Mini (with a fridge tied to the back). The Crown was a great car, the Mini not so much. In fact, the gearstick broke off in my had one time while I was driving. When I went to get it fixed I was told it was fairly common!

6
Meet Blaise, she’s not actually mine, she belongs to ET, but I did have her for a year (which is way longer than a lot of cars I actually owned!) I couldn’t possibly do a car post and not include her.

And now for some dream cars….

Holden_efijy

The car on the left is an original 1949 FJ Holden, the one on the right is a Holden Efijy  and was made as a concept car in 2004 or thereabouts, but due to increasing pressure from consumers, it may eventually make it to production.

But everything in this post is just crap when you compare them to my all time Dream Car.

Oh Geez! I can’t believe I almost forgot this one! It’s a 1990 Feroza that I bought new (and yes, that means I’ve had it for 17 years)…

Trailer_05_2

And a late inclusion…

Wood_002

It was brought to my attention while reading some posts, that Tiff did say that you could post lawnmowers, so here’s mine (with a load of wood that I just cut).

58 Responses

  1. Ummm. In that first photo. In the bucket of the tractor. Is that a d… oh never mind. I’ll just say ewww! The other pics are great though. Mustangs seem to be a popular vehicle.

  2. I only got one word for your dream car:

    Phallic.

  3. I like the one that you bought in 1990. Any vehicle that is in service for 17 years is my favorite kind.

    Traveling around the country in a camper does sound wonderful.

  4. I like the one that you bought in 1990. Any vehicle that is in service for 17 years is my favorite kind.

    Traveling around the country in a camper does sound wonderful.

  5. Awesome rides, WT.

  6. What great, classic cars!
    I have dreamt about travelling around Australia like that, good for you!

  7. What great, classic cars!
    I have dreamt about travelling around Australia like that, good for you!

  8. What a wonderful set of cars, trucks, buses! We owned VW buses ourselves as we traveled around Europe. They are great for packing in a lot of kids and camping! lol…

  9. I want that efigy…desperately.

  10. I want that efigy…desperately.

  11. That’s alot of vehicles. Give me a good utilitarian vehicle every time. I can’t get caught up in luxury. Actually I could but I’m not there yet.

  12. Umm dude, your mini had a FRIDGE stuck to the back of it!
    And you won’t have too many folks fighting you for your dream car…
    My dream car is a KITT – not the model, the actual talking magical car. I have yet to find one.

  13. You’ve sure owned a lot of cars over the years. I would love a VW camper van and do some touring…maybe when the kids have left home. As for the mini with the fridge on the back, I’d be worried it would fall off!

  14. VW camper van – I like that one!

  15. Wow, that’s a lot of cars to have had! I think my favorite is Blaise, she rocks!

  16. Nice set of cars! You have owned way more than me 😀

  17. Nice set of cars! You have owned way more than me 😀

  18. The concept car! How cool is that! ! !

  19. I would like the yellow mustang, thanks. Oh, this isn’t automart? Dang it!

    Thanks for the electrical engineering help. I put up an apology post for sounding like an ass for my “two semesters of engineering physics” comment. That was more to point out that I’m not completely ignorant of all things electrical, but it sounded kind of snooty. Sorry!

  20. I remember seeing those camper rigs all over in the 70’s.

    You’ve done a good job keeping track of all your rides!

  21. we must compare lists sometime WT, like you I’ve been a caraholic most of my life,

  22. we must compare lists sometime WT, like you I’ve been a caraholic most of my life,

  23. Wow, you’ve owned a crap load of cars! I like the lawn mower.

  24. The VW camper is just great. That looks such a beautiful place to stop and take in the scenary. Great range of cars including your dream car ( no comment) and I love the lawn mower.

  25. “Oh, I wish I was an Oscar Mayer Weiner…” Niiiice. I do like the Mustang, though, very pretty.

    J~

  26. How come you didn’t put on your crown and mention that you were hosting next week? All guts – no glory.

    AND WTF??? Did I mention posting photos of dead animals? What IS that in the first photo? Ugh.

  27. How come you didn’t put on your crown and mention that you were hosting next week? All guts – no glory.

    AND WTF??? Did I mention posting photos of dead animals? What IS that in the first photo? Ugh.

  28. Cool rides! 😀

  29. Oh I LOVE camper VW’s, love yours too. I almost had a ’84 camper vanagon…it was my Mom’s and she was going to give it to us as a wedding gift but when it over heated and died on us in the middle of no-where with our then 18month old unable to get a-hold of anyone for 17 hrs…. She decided it wasnt a good gift. big sigh!

    Your all time dream car gave me a good laugh!

  30. I can’t even explain how much I love the fridge strapped to the back of that mini. I really like ET’s truck, too.

    Cory had a Mustang for a while when we were in high school. When he left for the military his uncle took it back and sold it. Asshole.

  31. Ok I seriously want blaise i think she is my dream car..

    rock on

    as for the others dude you have had alota cars and that is sayin something coming from a red neck girl born and raised

  32. urrr dream truck;P

  33. urrr dream truck;P

  34. I’d love to have one of those Holdens!! Beautiful!! (Okay, now what did I say about people who are impressed by cars!? ) Love the mustang and the VW camper too! Nothing beats a combi/camper!!

  35. Great post, I enjoyed it. You’ve had an interesting life.

    Glad you survived in that Olds 88. No wonder you like cats–you seem to have nine lives, too!

    I hope you get to drive the Weinermobile someday 🙂

  36. Oops, I spelled Wiener wrong, sorry.

  37. Traveling around the country in a camper does sound s like the LIFE!

  38. Traveling around the country in a camper does sound s like the LIFE!

  39. Traveling around the country in a camper does sound s like the LIFE!

  40. The lawn mower is my favorite…

  41. I hope you get your all time DreamCar at some point; I’d call you the Jolly Wiener.

  42. The VW camper pic is awesome! Nice work!

  43. I bet you could pick up a lot of chicks in the wiener-mobile.

  44. I bet you could pick up a lot of chicks in the wiener-mobile.

  45. My absolute favorite is the VW bus!! They ROCK!

  46. How do you know how Einstein was hung?

  47. Marnie, and I thought a Hummer was over-compensation….!

    Swampy, I giggled on your comment.

    WT, how can you remember all this stuff? I could barely find a picture of my first car :/… But, truthfully, this little exercise of Tiggerlane’s (and seeing ALL your pics) has prompted me to make sure to at least encourage my kids to photograph all their cars…one day they might blog and they’ll wish they had ;).

  48. What a great collection – I’m partial to the VW Buses. 🙂

  49. What a great collection – I’m partial to the VW Buses. 🙂

  50. They hung Einstein?

  51. Great collection of car pictures. I really like the trucks.

  52. I really drove a ‘ 72 Mustang for a couple of years in high school. It was almost the same color as my horse. I really liked that car, but it fell apart my second year in college so I got the blue Dodge Omni.

    Of all your vehicles including the dream cars, I am most envious of your lawn mower. Wow! I could really get some things done with a machine like that!

  53. I really drove a ‘ 72 Mustang for a couple of years in high school. It was almost the same color as my horse. I really liked that car, but it fell apart my second year in college so I got the blue Dodge Omni.

    Of all your vehicles including the dream cars, I am most envious of your lawn mower. Wow! I could really get some things done with a machine like that!

  54. you could’ve been larry, the used-car salesman, from “three’s company” with that collection. i loved the vintage mustang and vw bus… great vehicles.

  55. Was the fridge a permanant feature of the mini?

  56. Better late than never, I guess. Computer problems or something.
    I wish I had taken pics of all our cars…that is a wonderful collection and I’m sure several year’s worth of stories.

  57. Oh, now I see my first comment finally posted, I gave up waiting on it.
    Poor Einstein.

  58. Oh, now I see my first comment finally posted, I gave up waiting on it.
    Poor Einstein.

Comments are closed.

