• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

Fun Monday #26

Fun_monday_2_2
This week it’s hosted by me, so just leave your coats by the door and come on in. I think everyone know the drill so I won’t go over it again. This week it’s either my Best friend or my worst TV character (or both if you like).

Oh, I almost forgot two important bits of housekeeping;
Firstly, Fun Monday is Six months old today, and secondly, we’re looking for a host for next week.

My Best Friend…

San_jose_090

It will come as no surprise to anyone who has read the Dingo for a while, that ET is my best friend. I’ve already written about how we met (if you want to read about it, here’s the post). In fact I’ve written a few posts about him, and there is a lot more that’s best left unsaid.

We met just on 30 years ago and clicked immediately. There was just something about our friendship, and no amount of time or distance has had any effect on it. We are pretty much total opposites, he likes classical music, fine wine, good food, art and literature. And I like to call him a faggot for liking all those sissy things!(which he’s not by the way, not that there’s anything wrong with that). However he also likes beer, old cars, girls, baseball(Giants) and football (49ers) so he’s not all bad.

We have spent hours just driving around spotting old cars, we’ve watched hundreds of baseball games, both on TV and at the park, and we’ve been thrown out of a few bars along the way. We have the same politics, and are both Unitarians, although we don’t really talk about either very much (except about Bush, I mean how can you resist!).

We don’t see each other all that often these days (we have visited each other since I moved back to Oz, but not for a few years now). However,  I do have a constant reminder of him, you see, ET actually introduced me to my wife of 27 years (I lived with ET and his wife for two years before I married MDW). Plus we talk for hours every week. Do you know it’s only 2 cents a minute to talk to the States? It would cost more than that in gas to go and see him if he lived near by. But I’d gladly pay it if it meant hanging out with ET for a while! Another thing that we do for hours on end when we’re together, is just throw a ball back and forth (I play baseball, he plays softball). We just stand there tossing a ball back and forth to each other and talking crap.

Finally here’s one little interesting piece of info that I haven’t mentioned before…He has two brothers, as have I. He doesn’t really talk to his, I don’t talk to mine. He’s the same age as my oldest brother, I’m the same age as his youngest brother, so what we’ve done effectively is simply swap brothers. I think it’s this more than anything that has kept us best friends for so long.

And now for part two.

If there was ever a person who could cause me to be incarcerated for pre-meditated murder, it’s that whiny, self-centred, impossible to please, total fucking bitch, Allison Dubois from Medium! God damn that woman is annoying! It’s all about her, and that poor schmuck of a husband is virtually raising those kids single handed while she’s out being a legend in her own mind! I have never, I repeat never accepted the total stupidity of some brain dead moron saying that his wife deserved the beating he gave her, but in Allison’s case I could make an exception (nah).

But here’s the rub, I recently saw Patricia Arquette in a film that was made about 10 years ago and she was the same whiny bitch in that too, just a lot younger, plus the real Allison Dubois got divorced! So it may be life imitating art or vice versa, who knows.

After you have written me a really nice comment, go and check out all the other Fun Monday peeps who are listed in the post above.

42 Responses

  1. You’ve written a great post about your best friend! My best friend and I are a few years apart as well and kind of had the sister relationship except neither of us actually had one around but wanted one.

    Allison Dubois irritates me also. I agree it seems she puts off her kids to much to run after her own thing and her poor hubby gets stuck working his job and then taking care of everything with the kids as well. Even though she acts like she is doing so much…..Did that make sense?

  2. Thank you for hosting this week’s Fun Monday. As I read your post about ET and as I wrote my entry, I thought not only about this dear friend but other friends as too. This reflection helped me remember how much I value those friends.

    You have zeroed in on the role of Patricia Arquette as Allison Dubois and The Medium. I have only watched The Medium a few times and did not enjoy the show. You are right; she is self-absorbed and whiny.

  3. You know WT it’s fabulous to hear a man talking about friendship and what it means to him usually stuff like that would be seen as ‘touchy, feely girl stuff! Would love to help out with next weeks Fun Monday but don’t have the time with the children off school.

  4. I agree whole heartedly with my daughter’s comment. I really enjoyed reading about your friendship with ET.

    If you don’t get a volunteer for next week I will try and think up a new topic and host it. Gosh is it really six months since we talked about the view from our front door.

  5. I think best friends are substitute siblings. Even if you have lots (and I do). In my case, I had lots of brothers and needed a few sisters. It may also be a way to get substitute parents…

  6. I feel a kinship with your best friendship!!

    My best friend and I are sorta “sisters,” too, and we have never lived in the same city!!

    It was lovely to see this side of you, WT!

  7. HA! Sayre and I were thinking a lot alike this morning. Best Friends are the family you get to choose. πŸ™‚ Muncy and I are sometimes more like sisters than my own sister and I. We certainly spend more time together, but then again my sister lives 3 hours away.

    Loved your post.

  8. How great it is to say you have a BF for 30 years. The “girls” I hung out with when I was younger, were too snarky to be best friends for any length of time.

    I could not agree more about Allison Dubois.

    Great Post and thanks so much for hosting! πŸ™‚

  9. Great post, cool truck.

    I’m sitting out this week because although I really do have real life friends, I just don’t have one that would come close to being called my best friend other than Danny. That’s neat that you do and that the friendship has lasted so long over such a distance!

    So, this TV character who is supposed to make you want to step through the set is supposed to be someone irritating? I hadn’t thought about it like that. I’m sure I could come up with at least one. I was thinking a character you’d like to meet or hang out with. In that case, I’d pick Fox Mulder.

    Patricia Arquette is whiny and annoying in everything I’ve seen her in also. That isn’t much, though. Now I’ve got to go look her up and see how many things she’s actually been in.

  10. “…he likes classical music, fine wine, good food, art and literature…” Sounds like my kind of friend!!

    Great post, WT, and great topic for a Fun Monday.

  11. I can’t stand to watch Medium. That Arquette lady is too weird looking and the show irritates that piss out of me.

  12. ET sounds like a great friend! Have a great Monday!

  13. I enjoyed learning more about your best friend.

    I just have to laught that the one character that you can’t stand is Allison Dubois. I agree, but it just cracks me up!

  14. Awww…how sweet that you just chose your own brother!

    I’ve never watched that show…I guess there is a good reason for that!

  15. What a great post and tribute to your friend. As you will see in mine, I couldn’t possibly limit it to one friend, but then, I’ve never been good with following rules! πŸ˜‰

    Oh, and I think I’m saving the TV Character part for another post altogether!

  16. Awesome post WT! I just loved reading a man’s perspective on Best Friends. It was my first read of the day but I am betting it will be my fave! I am an only (guess I should have put that in my post) Best Friends for me are sisters that I never had; the fact that I got to choose them was a bonus!
    I have never watched Medium, probably due to all your reasons for hating the character!

  17. A great post on your best friend. 30 years of friendship is amazing. And I agree with Medium. Whiny Allison needs to go. I saw a show on the ‘real’ woman behind Medium and I thought she seemed pretty cool. Wonder how she feels about someone so irritating playing her on TV.

  18. This is awesome. I love that you say you’ve swapped brothers.

  19. snif snif

    how sweet

    and as for the other

    dude if i were her man i’d kick her ass not that i could be her man with me bein a woman and all but you get the deal

  20. You said the magic word. I am suddenly so in love with you!

  21. I FINALLY got my “FUN MONDAY” up and I’m sorry, but my hubby IS my bff!

    Thank you for hosting FUN MONDAY this week.

    What a wonderful post about your best friend. You both are so lucky to have one another!

    Happy Monday!

  22. Great post, Pete – I have a friend, Elizabeth, that I’ve been friends with since Kindergarten (but we don’t talk enough)

    I’ll be back to read your Bus Ride post later.

    I came home to TONS of stuff that needs to be done. Wonder why?

    (actually, Amanda cleaned the house – so it looks great, it is all the outside stuff I’ve got to get to)

  23. Wow…that has to be the sweetness yet NOT GAY thing I’ve read a man write about another man, and NO ONE being gay in all of it. Cool post.

    As for Allison – I have no idea how we are supposed to buy that a guy as HOT as her husband puts up with her crap. Not to mention the fact that he is HAWT.

    I DID think of a character – that old hag from “Murder She Wrote.” I can’t STAND her.

  24. That is a great tribute to your best friend. I took the cowards way out, and went with funny so as not to show too much of my soft centre. Good post.

  25. Loved reading your post….

    Sorry I cheated on mine.

    If you can’t find a host for next week, I can do it. I have done it before, so definitely give a chance to someone who hasn’t done it.

  26. That’s a really sweet post Pete! You are truly fortunate!

  27. Great story.

    Fun Monday is 6 months old? Whoda Thunk?!

    Here is your nice comment, now please go directly to your video camera and record yourself saying, “Vicki from Oklahoma is one of my favorite bloggers..” Or something like that. Just say my name in a sentence and then post back here.

    Hurry. go. quickly. =)

  28. 1. I thought I was your best friend?!

    2. Asshole.

    3. I would have thought you would have mentioned Meredith Grey in part two. Whine whine whine.

    4. I really don’t know you after all.

  29. I prepared to say “here is your nice comment” and lo and behold Vicki beat me too it.

    I’ve always enjoyed your ET posts

    I’m feeling quite guilty about not calling or visiting my best friend — it’s only a 7 hour drive, but a phone call is free (nights and weekends)

  30. Agghgh- I couldn’t participate last week and then this week (kitchen is being installed and I’m busy plastering and painting and dog tired). But I am managing to read a few blogs;) to relax.

    Nice story. I wish I could have written about my best friend — oh well – I’ll find time to do it soon and just do it as a post. xo

  31. Susan – LOL, this illustrates the downside of speed reading! I haven’t spoken to my brother in over 20 years!

    Marnie –
    1)You are my best friend, but I’m not about to tell these people that, I’ve got a wholesome image to maintain.
    2)I know you are, but what am I?
    3)I didn’t want to hurt your feelings any more than I already have.
    4)Knowing someone is such an overrated thing.
    Besides, you’ve got a new best friend now anyway!

  32. WT, sorry mine was late. I had a bad Monday, culminating in a meeting request from my boss saying “Let’s discuss your future”.
    Also I was bad and posted about my spouse. But when you see the reason why I am sure you will not be too cross.

    Have you thought about suggesting to your brothers and ET’s brothers that they become best friends too, then they get a brother substitute as well and you still don’t have to talk to them.

    Are you still looking for a host? If so let me know.

  33. Happy six months! You are as geeky as I am, LOL.

    You’ve had a friend for 30 years? Gosh, you’re old. πŸ˜‰

    Once again, you dash my hopes that my boys will someday be each other’s buddies as they journey through life. But, it’s nice to know that they may find and choose substitute brothers.

    Great story, really, and I love the coincidences. I’m very happy for you that you have such a dear friend.

    How long ago was that photo taken?

    My best-est friends all read my blog, so I hate to single anyone out. Some friends are those I met in 5th grade when I moved to a new school, and the others are former roommates from the late 1980’s and early 1990’s. Let’s see, 5th grade was nearly 27 years ago. Wow. I guess I’m not too far behind you after all.

  34. I really can’t post anything about best friends due to the fact that I do not have one.

    As for your opinion about the actor/character Patricia Arquette, I agree, she is the reason for domestic violence.

  35. P.S. Has ET started reading your blog yet?

  36. swapping brothers? that sounds like a good idea. (not really, eric. unless an invite to stay on the long boat isn’t forthcoming…)

  37. Better late than never I guess…Jury Duty, you know.
    Enjoyed reading more about ET but was a bit distressed / surprised you didn’t list me anywhere in that post…I don’t know either of the bitches you mentioned.
    Thanks for being the hostess with the mostess…host with the most?

  38. I enjoyed reading about your friendship with ET and agree with Beccy that its nice to hear this from a man’s point of view. Many of the posts I have read this evening have been about maintaining friendships across the miles and years.

    Tossing a ball back and forth and talking crap…sounds pretty good to me too.

  39. yep, you’ve confirmed it…friends are the family you choose. But, if Arquette annoys you so much, why do you keep watching??

  40. great post…your friends are lucky to have you….

  41. Thank goodness someone can follow the rules, but I guess if you make them – yo umake rules you can follow! I’m glad to read about such a great sounding person. I think I would like ET a lot!! A little literature and art is good for you!!

  42. I hope I’m still best friends with my girls in another 20+ years

Comments are closed.

