• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

Fun Monday #29

Fun_monday_2
It’s Fun Monday again. Where has the the time gone? This week Beckie from Give it a Try is hosting. Our mission is to show a favourite treat…I want to know what your favourite treat is…Is it home-made
or store bought?

This is a hard one (as I imagine it will be for everybody) given that there are so many things I like; Chivas Regal Whiskey, Sushi, Pizza, Homemade Bread and Rockie Road ice-cream to name just a random few (as well as anything that has anything to do with chocolate). But I thought I’d show you something that its both home-made and store bought and might even give you an idea for saving a buck.

To start with here is the store bought version…

Fun_mon_29_01

Mmm-mmm Ferrero Rocher, those yummy little bite-sized balls of sheer hazelnut pleasure!  Just the thought of them makes me moist in places I’d prefer to remain dry. 

Let’s look at them a little more closely…

Fun_mon_29_02

The exquisite blend of smooth hazel nut truffle and crunchy wafer like coating make them a scrumptious, but sadly, somewhat expensive treat (plus the little bits of hazelnut wreak havoc on my diverticulitis). But try as I may, I just can’t find the strength to deprive myself of this semi-orgasmic pleasure.

What to do, what to do? How can I enjoy this pinnacle of hedonism without a) having to take out a second mortgage or sell a kidney, and b) subjecting my butt to the after effects of a bout of diverticulitis? (we’re talking ring of fire here).

Basically I need to combine smooth hazel nut filling with crunchy wafer in an inexpensive manner.

Kinda like this…

Fun_mon_29_03

Yes folks, meet Willow Rocher the othersheer hazelnut pleasure‘. This costs about one third the price of a box of the real thing and it makes about twice as much! And as an added bonus, I don’t need a fire blanket for my butt.

Let’s have a closer look shall we?…

Fun_mon_29_04

Yumm! And here’s the best thing, you can fool your guests into thinking that you have spent a lot of money on them, because not only does it taste almost exactly the same as the real thing, it also looks almost exactly the same too!…

Fun_mon_29_05

See what I mean?  It’s virtually impossible to tell them apart!

Have a Fun Monday. I’m posting this a bit early as I’m off to the coast for a few days to see MDW and have my car serviced (not by MDW).

50 Responses

  1. I’m ashamed to say I had to Google ‘diverticulitis’ because I wasn’t sure if it was a documented ailment or a Willowism.
    We adore Ferrero Rocher and are truly overjoyed to meet Willow Rocher, because we like to hang on to our kidneys etc too. Midnight snack here we come!

  2. I’m glad to see there are other people out there who have that reaction to food. Danny thinks I’m just weird. Rocky Road is my favorite flavor of ice cream, too. I’ve had the Ferrero Rocher truffles, but I prefer truffles without nuts. I’m not sure why I like them in Hershey bars and ice cream, but not in truffles.

  3. I knew there was a reason I liked you. I’ve loved those Ferrero Rocher things since I was a kid. It used to cheer me to no end to find those in my stocking Christmas morning. And Nutella! I think I could be seduced simply with a jar of that stuff. I like filling pastry with it, personally. Pate a choux (sorry, no French accents on the words) with Nutella baked inside? Heaven.

  4. Omg. FAR too much information, WT. Thanks for the fetching images.

    (hilarious)

    (pssstt. Ferrero Roche is my fav choccy too – but the only thing I suffer is fatter arse. Thankfully, no diverticulities or ring of fire here!).

  5. argh – correction: diverticulitis.

  6. oh, I love Nutella and Ferrero Rocher and Bacio and Gianduja….anything combining hazelnut and chocolate!!!

  7. You’re right WT, its almost impossible to tell them apart.

  8. I hate hazelnut. blech!

    Have fun with YDW. You’re going to be back with part 2 of your 3 story story, right?

  9. mmmmmmmmm…. my favorite chocolates. Bob always gives me some as part of my Christmas. I think we have nutella over here… but I’ve never seen the crackers… will have to come up with some sort of substitute.

    Have a great trip.

  10. You hit two of my faves – nutella and ferrara rocher! Great. Now I have a craving. Two, actually.

  11. You probably didn’t read my post the time my neighbour brought me a huge box of Ferrero Rocher. I think the WT version looks pretty good. Enjoy your trip πŸ™‚

  12. mmmmmm, yummm, Ferrero Rocher!!!! and Nutella!! Nutella is almost unknown here.

    almost.

    but I know, and I know where to find it.

    yum yum yum!

  13. hmmm. chocolate spread on a cracker? yuck.

  14. TLG – If you suffer from fat-arse you should stick to the Ferrero Rochers, economics will keep you thin.

    Peter – It’s even harder after a few doobies.

    Melissa – Your loss, that’s means more for the rest of us.

    Laurie – Just two minor points, 1)it’s not chocolate it’s hazelnut, and 2)it’s not a cracker it’s a Cruskit. I know it sounds nit-picky but it’s not, I’ve tried chocolate spread and I don’t like it, and I’ve tried Nutella on crackers and it’s not the same, in fact it’s awful.

  15. At least you can spell the ailment i can’t… but thanks for the tip i have to avoide stuff like that for the same reason. urr TMI? LOL My husband loves those treats.. he adores them i think there ok but im not a choco holic myself;)

  16. I hate Ferrero Rochers and I am not terribly keen on Nutella. (Which tastes just like chocolate spread to me.)
    I quite like a cruskit. But I have savoury toppings on mine, not sweet.
    I’m feeling a bit green around the gills this morning and am very sorry I googled diverticulitis.

  17. ToB – Thanks for sharing that, and attacking my most treasured joy πŸ˜‰ My wife is of the savoury persuasion too, so I understand what you’re saying.

  18. Now here’s something we DO agree on! (Except for the butt troubles–no problems here ;)) Both options look good to me.

  19. A fire blanket for your butt? What a visual that provides. AARRGGHH!
    I love that “candy”…or whatever it is. So far, I’ve not suffered any ill effects from eating a box of them.

  20. Mmmm a Nutella creation, and you get to control the amount! It doesn’t get much better than that.

  21. Cripes, you even made me laugh with a post about sweets!

    They look exactly the same!

  22. Have a great trip Willowtree. Both of your chocolate delights look fabulous. I can almost taste them now, yum.

  23. I’m sorry, but Nutella is THE most underrated food product in America. Why are people here not smearing it all over their bodies and faces and licking it off one another? It’s really THAT GOOD.

    Nutella nourished all my babies in utero.

    I love scenes from your kitchen, W.T. It’s a little window into your soul. And kitchen.

  24. I LOVE those! I just try to stay away from them, but at times it is difficult. πŸ˜€

  25. YUMMMM – Santa always manages to leave me some of that Rocher in my stocking every year.

  26. Those are my favorites too. I love me some Nutella. It loves sticking to my thighs, but nevermind.

  27. Amen!!!

  28. I’ve attempted to comment four times now. I keep hitting something weird on my keyboard. Or else it is slobber shorting it out.

    My nephew got us hooked on nutella for awhile. I’m going hunting for cruskits next time tho. I think we ate it on cookie wafers and graham crackers.

    Love the hazelnut candy, too.

  29. Man! Of all days to read blogs. I’m dying for some damn chocolate now. Everyone’s pages are filled with these yummy goodies and I’m T.O.T.A.L.L.Y dying here. Looks yummy, WT. My desserts usually consist of betty crocker frosting and a spoon. ha!

  30. oh great now I am starving here..totally starving and drooling on the keyboard…and it is soooo hard to get nutella in Cleveland…shoot…( now on the west coast- not a problem…and I LOVE it….)

  31. couldn’t tell them apart! if anyone ever buys me any Ferreor Rocher i will gladly send them to you, not on of my favourates so they can be all yours.

  32. Yummy!this things (ferrero,nutella)I know too and I like it too and we buy it here too!

    My fun monday is posted too.

  33. We used to get millions of Ferrero Rocherβ„’ at Christmas, which is probably why I’m a bit over them. However, I will never say no if offered one, as I wouldn’t dream of insulting the person giving away free treats. Perhaps you could modify your homemade version with a deep-fried variant, similar to a deep-fried Mars Bar?

  34. The best crepes I ever had were filled with Nutella. I’m hungry now.

  35. Uncanny how they look so alike…

  36. I like your version! I Love Nutella…imagine that! I really think the lil’ balls I showed do not have any chocolate…I will see if I can find out for sure but my tastes buds say no way Jose.

  37. My mom keeps singing the praises of Nutella but I just haven’t had the chance to try it. Unfortunately, I’ve never seen those crusty things in our stores. I’ll check Trader Joes next time.

  38. Ferrero Rocher are absolutely my favourite chocolates as well. Creamy with the nuts inside. To die for. And I enjoy Nutella, too. Great choices. πŸ™‚

  39. 1) Nevah had Nutella, but with all the raves, my curiosity is piqued.

    2) How can we tell it’s time for WT to go “to the Coast” (aka see HDW)???

    Exhibit A: “Just the thought of them makes me moist in places I’d prefer to remain dry.”

    Exhibit B: “But try as I may, I just can’t find the strength to deprive myself of this semi-orgasmic pleasure.”

    3) Have a GREAT trip!! πŸ™‚

  40. Hmmmm…..I’m happy you enjoy these treats!!!

  41. It’s eerie how much they look alike!

  42. You are so right. There is absolutely no difference between the two chocolate treats. None. Why pay more when you can make it yourself? Excellent post.

  43. The Offspring has recently been on a Nutella kick – I’ll have to share this little trick with her!

  44. Nutella is one of those things I rarely buy…becuase we tend to gobble it up and there is sticks to my waistline!

  45. That is hilarious…Ummm..I mean amazing. Who knew you could make them at home. Unfortunately, I don’t think we have those wafers here. I think you are on to something though, they also have less calories I am sure, so you could eat many more of them. Nutella disappears pretty quick here, I have caught my kids with a spoon in the Nutella jar.

  46. Min had me rolling on the floor laughing when she read your blog to me over the phone! Great job! Your post is just as good in real life!! Thanks for a merry spot to the day!

  47. They are a splitting image!

  48. I’ve never had the former mainly b/c of the price, but I might have to try that ‘substitute’ for sure. yum! Willowtree, you give me yet another reason for me to adore you! πŸ™‚

  49. At first I wondered how the cracker could look like the candy. Glad you put one right on top of the other. πŸ™‚ They taste a lot alike, huh. Will have to try that. Saving money on it means buying more, right? πŸ™‚

  50. Oh god…WHY did you say Nutella?? Forget the cracker, grab a spoon. Aaahh…

Comments are closed.

