• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

Fun Monday #34

Fun_monday_2
This week’s assignment is from Lisa and it’s to show our favourite recipe. It can be our favourite because it’s either tasty or easy (or possibly even both), so I’m going with the easy option. My favourite recipe is Baked Bean Pot Beans.

Funmonday_cooking_005Growing up in Australia, I had no idea beans came any way other than in
a can, this goes for spaghetti, beetroot, asparagus, pineapple and
soup. And don’t even get me started on processed cheddar cheese (think
Velveeta), anyone who had shares in a laxative company was set for life!  I chose beans because they’re easy, and not only are they tasty and fun to eat, but the farts are even more fun (although if you want to make it without the farts, just make sure you rinse the beans well, but that defeats the purpose). And finally I just like the name, Baked Bean Pot Beans, that just makes no sense at all! They can be baked or they can be boiled in a pot, they can’t be both.

I’ll post the instructions at the end, after all the gratuitous pictures, but first I need to give you a quick cooking lesson. Before you even attempt something as adventurous as this, it’s essential that you scrape all the crud off the counter tops from when you last made it three months ago, otherwise the photos will look like shit.

As always, assemble all your ingredients for the class photo, as you can, see I even let the recipe join in…
Funmonday_cooking_002

Chop the onion and throw it in the pan and sweat (that’s a cooking term, I don’t mean for you to perspire), next and add the aromatics to the onion to mask it’s B.O. You’d be surprised how many people don’t know what chopped onions look like so here’s a picture…
Fun_mon_28_cooking_019_3 Funmonday_cooking_009

Now mix all the wet stuff and add some water so that you can get all the crap out of the jars. Plop (another cooking term) the wet crap, the beans and the bacon hock into the pot with the perspiring onions, then put the lid on and watch TV…
Funmonday_cooking_013

Funmonday_cooking_014_2

The thing I like about this recipe apart from being easy and only using one pot, is that it’s very basic and you can add almost anything laying around without screwing it up.

But if you’re a stickler for detail, here’s the real index card…

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound dried navy beans
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 molasses
  • 1/2 teaspoon dry mustard
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 pound lean salt pork, diced

Preparation:
Rinse beans and pick over (WTF??). Place in al large bowl; add water to more than cover (beans will expand [no shit sherlock!]). Let bean stand overnight. Drain beans. Combine beans and onion in a large saucepan; add water to cover and heat to boiling.

Cover and simmer for about 45 minutes, or until the skins burst open when you scoop a few out in a spoon and blow on them. Drain liquid into a small bowl and reserve for sauce and for cooking. (I’ve never done any of that, I just throw every thing in and turn the heat up)

Measure 1 cup of the bean liquid into a bowl; add molasses, mustard, brown sugar and salt; stir well. In a 2 quart bean pot (excuse me? there’s a bean pot?? I’ve never done this either), layer half of the salt pork and all of the beans. Pour molasses mixture over the beans; add just enough more reserved bean liquid to cover the beans. Top with remaining salt pork, pressing pieces down into the liquid. Keep extra reserved liquid refrigerated for use during baking.

Bake, covered, at 300 deg for 4 hours, checking occasionally – if beans seem to dry, add more reserved liquid. Uncover and bake for about 1 hour or until beans are tender.

Shit! Shit! Shit! The more I typed the recipe into the post, the more it seemed I had the wrong recipe! So I looked at the next sheet and found the one I really use! Damn!! Well I’ve typed it all in now so I may as well leave it! You get two for the price of one. I actually only use that recipe for the ingredients.

This is the way I really make them, it’s called Simple Stovetop Baked Beans (now I have to take back my earlier wisecrack, those other ones really are baked).

That first recipe seems like a lot of work to me, so here’s a better way):

1. Drain soaking water from beans and place them in a heavy pot. Cover them with boiling water and cook until tender, about 2 hours.

2. When beans are tender, saute onions in a saucepan with a little olive oil until golden, then add to beans with other ingredients and simmer for another hour.

That’s more like it (easy), although I don’t really do that either, I seem to use a combination of both methods, which just goes to show how flexible this beans caper really is! Either way they end up looking something like this…
100_0903

I like them either as a meal or as a side dish, but they are especially nice with some home-made bread…

Food_011

I hope you all have a Fun Monday. Now go and check out everyone else’s stuff.

46 Responses

  1. ahhh haaa by gosh im first

    now i’ll go back and read

    *giggle*

  2. damn WT you even bake bread? im totally impessed ya wanna give my hubs some cooking lessons?

  3. You cook and even bake your very own bread! Very impressive!! The pictures make it very interesting and both recipes sound very tasty.

  4. With two men in the house we have enough farts to last forever, so we’ll skip the beans.

    But could you send us a slice or two of that bread? With some butter? I’m too lazy to get out the bread machine….plus I’d have to move all of the crap piled on top of it.

  5. the hubby and I LOVE beans. I should make them… maybe I’ll pull your recipe and let him cook them.

    and the farting bit… well my fart book says to eat sweet potatoes and they will smell very pretty.

    just saying..

  6. ps
    I recognize the bread shape from a bread machine.
    because thats how I make it, too.

  7. I’m amazed that something so uneloquently described can look so damn good!
    You could probably start a hot-air-balloon-rides company from the backlash of those beans. Well I’m going to try it – if MDH starts f@rting I’ll point him in your direction and hope he makes it over the ditch, okay?

  8. How funny! I have made my version of this today! I could not be bothered taking pictures though. You know what they say about great minds and all!

    My version of this is even easier. And I NEVER pick over or soak the beans. I use lamb rosettes, onion, garlic and tomato paste.

    You can actually bring the water to the boil (with the beans in of course) and then turn it off and leave it for a couple of hours. It still works. He He I love the way you used the slow cooker, thats the one thing I can’t get away with. Everyone here hates the slow cookers flavour. They reckon everything tastes the same.

  9. Wolfie – Congratulations.

    Jeanne – Surprisingly it actually tastes pretty good.

    Blue Momma – Isn’t that the way with all kitchen appliances?

    Pamela – I love sweet potatoes! And it’s not about the smell, it’s about the vibration. Yep, bread machine.

    Melissa in NZ – If you soak them and rinse them you don’t get gas.

    Karisma – That sounds good. I’ve never thought about lamb, but I normally add some tomato paste, but I didn’t have any this time. And it’s not actually a slow cooker, it’s a deep fryer, but it works pretty well as a crock pot (but you can’t do real slow cook stuff).

  10. Gee. I’m inspired, and salivating. (Also forgot to buy dinner in my rush to get back to the cave). Words, written, spoken, said, take up a lot of time eh? What I do have is a can opener, a tin of three bean mix, lemon juice, garlic, an egg to boil and toast. Voila, dinner. Who needs to go shopping–again. Oh, and the joy of living alone and farting without fear.

  11. I’ve tried baked beans before and just couldn’t get the damn beans to cook….16 hours later and they were still hard as little bastard rocks. I think I tried too hard. I’m writing this one down for sure.

  12. ** snort ** on the “You’d be surprised how many people don’t know what chopped onions look like…” remark 😉 .

    And blowing on beans til their skins burst open?? I’m sorry, that just sounds wrong!

    The end results looks daggum delicious, no matter how you got there!

  13. I’m impressed. Especially with the bread, although it looks like it came out of a bread machine. I do love baked beans with pork and molasses. I always thought it was just an American thing.

    Oh, yeah, and you’ve got another award over at my blog. Yeah, stop gloating.

  14. That looks good. I want a bread machine!! I am jealous. 😉

  15. Caroline – Wow, that sounds like a gastronomic masterpiece!

    Joy T. – I’ve always been somewhat wary of the baking method for that very reason, I prefer to boil the shit out of them.

    Robin – I did a double take when I read that too, sounds like bullshit to me.

    Jen – What are you saying, that’s there something wrong with homemade bread if you use a bread machine?! I meant to put it in the post (but I forgot), the first time I ever had real beans was in Canada.

    Debs – Mine’s great, it’s not like a normal dedicated appliance, a little oven too.

  16. I think embee would like this but I’m not sure I would like him much after he’d eaten them !!
    It looks good though and I could just eat some of that bread, I must go and have some lunch!

  17. I’m sitting here farting just reading this post.
    How you to “line-up” those smaller pictures so perfectly? (seasonings, onions, salt pork, crock pot)
    One more question: How long did it take for you to complete this post? Just wondering. Great job !
    Now, back to my farting.

  18. Oh dear, even beans sound complicated the way you describe them. I’ll have to continue having mine from a can – but yours look great. Perhaps you could courier some to me, I love beans on toast for brekky.

  19. I rinse, soak, and rinse again, but they still cause gas, so I use a second recipe.
    1) Eat the beans you cooked.
    2) Wait a while.
    3) Fill the tub with hot water.
    4) Get in.
    5) Let the magical fruit do its thing.
    Voila! Instant hillbilly hot tub. (Though a true hillbilly would say Wah lah! or maybe Yeehaw!)

    I’m very impressed with the bread. I can make awesome dessert type breads, but real bread that has to be kneaded and rise and all that jazz is trickier. I tried it once and wound up with two loaves that would have made better bricks than bread.

    Now where’s the mime tribute?

  20. I love the first step ‘scraping the crud
    from the countertop!’
    Looks good, I jusy dug out my crockpot, I’ll have to give it a try.
    Thanks for playing Fun Monday!

  21. Your counters look lovely, by the way. But the beans and bread look better.

    Just make sure the dogs don’t get into the beans. You’d have to sleep outside.

  22. Looks yummy. We like to eat beans with cornbread and fried potatoes. Oddly enough, I think I was grown before I realized you could buy beans in a can. Mama never used anything but dried or fresh from the garden.

  23. Actually, according to some expert I watched on television recently, the more beans you eat – the less gas you will have (because your body adjusts). So, eat away.

  24. Those are awesome. I loved baked beans and make them in a crockpot sometimes and other times a roaster. I haven’t made them for awhile as I got some beans that would not soften no matter how long I soaked them and cooked them. I had successes before with the little white beans, but somehow a couple failures with this bag and I have given up. I am going to have to get some new beans and try again. I have made refried beans regularly though. This is all to the dismay of our Son who falsely claims allergies.

  25. What is in the jar with the green lid?
    I get it now…you were just jealous that my post was quick and easy and yours was long and complicated and confusing…I still don’t know how to make YOUR beans…since its a combo of both recipes how about you type up a recipe for Willowtree’s Beans?

  26. Holy Hell, I am really hungry now…

    And I had no idea sweat was a cooking term…

  27. I have to giggle at everyone that can’t soften the silly beans. I always start with canned beans, wash them off and add my own seasonings. I’ve no patience to mess with the dried ones!

    So you see, beans do only come in cans! LOL

  28. Beans, beans, the magical fruit…yeah, we all now the rest. Yum! I love beans but haven’t made real ones in a long time. I’m always busting open the cannedbaked beans (good, but boring). This looks really good! I am inspired now to make bread, make beans and fart 😉 hehehehe!!!

  29. Now Willow, you know white bread just doesn’t cut it. Homemade or not! You must eat this fart concoction with cornbread or don’t eat it at all. Looks good and I likes the easy method.

  30. You make bread? You’re a better housewife than I am. Holy Cow! And, did I read your spices right? Is Chili spelled with two “Ls” down under? Travesty!

  31. I have to stop reading these recipes- I’m starving!

  32. That looks good but the bread really has me drooling. 🙂 I LOVE bread!

  33. This makes me want to make my grandma’s baked beans. My mom could always make them perfectly but mine never turned out…maybe later this week when the weather cools down a bit.

    I got a bread machine when I got married and gave it away as it made for an extremely large paperweight.

    hi min!

  34. That’s one nice loaf, WT!

  35. What’s a bachelor pad without plenty of farting, eh? Do the dogs mind?

    Fun post, WT.

    Hey, the handle of your pan (in the last photo)looks identical to mine. And I think we have the same knives, too.

    What kind of bread did you make?

  36. YUM!! Oh my god that looks soooo good. I’m impressed there, WT.

  37. Hi melissa!

  38. I just read your first posters comment and realized no one has ever said, “I’m FIRST” on my blog. What’s up with that!?

    I’m pouting now.

    Just kidding! The beans look amazing and so does the bread. I make beans and fresh bread once a week. Great minds…

  39. That does look yummy and I had a lot of fun with your blending of the recipes. But what I really want to comment about is… bean pot??? Seriously??

  40. Hey…I was just checking out your blog because I have been busy. I wanted to say how good your beens looked and I read your comment section. There is another Caroline out there!!!!!! Ok this comment is coming from me….Marnie’s mom (Caroline). I hope the other Caroline isn’t as snarky as me, people are going to be so confused. I will sign off now….I’ll bet my beans have more “fart” in them than yours do!
    marniesmomcaroline

  41. um, do you have any recipes fer softening up hard boiled old Has Beens? .. or is that just another esoteric improvisational skill.

  42. I’m impressed with the bread making part as well but couldn’t stop giggling over the fart comment!

  43. I don’t know if I should confess that I have a bean pot, but there it is…. and now I feel like making bread and fixing a pot of beans… but I guess I’d better sign in to work instead. *sigh*

    (If you buy beans in bulk it really is a good idea to pick them over, because they probably haven’t been through as many bean-sorting machines as the plastic bag sort, and you’d be amazed to find out how many stones are exactly the same size as a dried bean. I buy in bulk from different sources and usually find 2-5 stones per pound. Thats a lot of potential dental repair work.)

  44. Mmmmmmmm I bet those would be good with a big slab of ribs too.

  45. Mmmmm it’s lunch time here and you got me hungry…you are truly a multi talented men WT.

Comments are closed.

