• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

The Bone of Doom.

I’m beginning to think Bentley is part Aborigine, his grandmother must have been a dingo or something. While I was on the Coast, I bought the boys (all dogs are boys and all cats are girls) some dried up hide chews that are tied up to make them look like bones (I’ll take a picture if I can ever get this cat off me!).

The thing about Bentley, is that while he’s a really laid back dude most of the time, he will fight over food. It’s actually worse than that, he’ll pick fights over food, and he’ll bully the other guys mercilessly if there’s real food involved. By real food I mean meat and bones as opposed to processed dog food.

So anyway, Aborigines do this thing called ‘Pointing the bone‘ you should click the link, it’s more interesting than this post. And it seems Bentley’s got everyone fooled into thinking that this is one of those magic bones. But before I tell you about this new trick of his, I’ll have to explain what usually happens…because Bentley beats the crap out of everyone to keep them away from any real food that I give them, the minute I pull a bone out of the bag, the other two dogs head for the hills and don’t come back until Bentley has taken his treasure outside (he’s not allowed to eat them inside as blood gets all over the carpet).

Ok, the cat’s gone so here’s a picture of the bone (which is actually dried hide)…

Dogg_bone_004

Now, where was I…oh yeah Bentley and the Magic Bone. I gave them each a ‘bone’ in Gosford, but Buddy and Belle are so scared of Bentley they wouldn’t touch theirs, so Bentley buried one, ate one, and discovered that if he carried last one around in his mouth that the other two dogs would give him a wide berth. Eventually I had to take it off him as the poor guys were suffering from anxiety.

I did however, bring it back up here and he’s refined the system a little bit. Now he doesn’t even carry it around with him any more, he just drops it near where he wants to hang out and bingo! everyone disappears. But it gets even better, if he want some quality time with me, he just follows me to the computer room and drops the magic bone in the doorway, then no-one else will come in the room with us! It’s really pretty funny.

Why are these dogs so tired?

Gos_trip_nov_018
Gos_trip_nov_019
Gos_trip_nov_017

Tune in tomorrow for the answer.

MePntBoNe post #10

28 Responses

  1. that’s one brilliant dog, man.

    here’s boscoe’s favorite trick: he moans and looks urgent, leading us to believe he needs to go out.

    we say, “do you need to go out?” and he and riley run like a shot to the door.

    boscoe stops short of the door. riley goes out.

    the only way to get riley back in the house is to clink the cookie jar.

    then they each get a treat. which is what boscoe was after all along.

  2. You drugged them, right?

  3. That is funny. Clever pooch!

    Bone pointing–hadn’t heard of that before. I learned something new. Might be hard to find kangaroo bones in Wisconsin, though. Do any other bones work? No reason…

  4. You have a pretty smart dog there!

  5. I’d be afraid too if that bone was pointing at me! Well, there is no doubt who the Top Dog is in the house.

  6. I believe you have pointed the bone at those dogs – and they are waiting for the witch dogtor(sic) to come and rejuvenate them.

  7. Bentley is one smart dog, I especially liked reading about dropping the bone at the computer room door. These animals can be so smart sometimes it’s scarey.

  8. Did he learn that trick from you? They say dogs and their owners start looking and acting the same after a while. 😆

  9. No. It didn’t teach him that trick, I just taught him how to lick his balls. Well that’s not quite true, all he’s got left is a scrotum.

  10. “A man who discovers that he is being boned by an enemy is, indeed, a pitiable sigh” yeah, I think a man that finds he’s being bones (unless that’s what he’s into of course…) would be pretty pitiable!! LOL!!

    And how did you teach Bentley to lick his balls??

  11. argh…typo…boned, not bones.

  12. Dear willowtree. I’ve never heard of the boning thing, pretty interesting. Does it still happen?

  13. LMM – Are you serious??? How could you not have heard about Pointing the Bone?

  14. Can you send me a kangaroo bone!!

  15. Very interesting…this gives being boned a whole new meaning. I hope that this tidbit comes up on tomorrow’s trivia quiz, which always seems to be about Australia.

    The dogs are tired from a hard day of bone-playing and bone-burying. No, I have it; the dogs are tired after a long day of posing for pictures. Dogs like to sleep?

  16. Our first dog was a little Shitzu named Lucy. When Cali, and English Springer Spaniel came along as a puppy, Lucy staked her ground. As Cali grew, her overwhelming size made no difference at all. It was comical to see Lucy bring Cali, several times her size, to the ground. Pecking order is an amazing thing. And very interesting to watch. Can’t wait to read tomorrow’s post!

  17. Neat trick. I wonder if I could do something similar to keep the kids away from my computer. This was one of your most interesting posts so far, plus it had the cute factor with the pet pics. But what was truly priceless was clicking on the link and reading in the second paragraph, “A man who discovers he is being boned by an enemy…”

  18. He’s clever, just like his daddy.

  19. Can Bently come teach that trick to at least one of the older dogs here? The two of them get so grumpy at the others, they need a trick to help them out.

  20. That’s brilliant I love how he gets you all to himself by freaking the others out.
    That pointing the bone thing is pretty freaky though!

  21. Oh, my! The stress and pressure of it all!

  22. Is your pug part mix? We have a full breed pug over here, he is blackish white, so cute!

    What a great post! I have a great saturday afternoon planned! I start off with a full body massage, manicure/pedicure, then a nice glass of wine at the restaurant down stairs! The restaurant has the best Chicken parmigiana I have ever had! Its a small family owned place! Why do the small places have the best food! UGH!

    Have a great weekend!

    DEB

  23. Bentley is brilliant. I loved this post. The dogs look completely worn out. Can’t wait to hear why.

  24. I would have thought the dogs were worn out from running away from the evil witch dogtor (thanks pamela). Or chasing the others away.

  25. I laughed and laughed and laughed. And missed Nootka, who used to take up half the couch exactly like Belle. The video was great – I love it when they go bananas like that.

  26. You’re making me all melty here.

  27. I have read a bout similar curses in other countries with the same result… facinating what the mind can do to the body isn’t it?

    as for bently he be the king of the house!!!

  28. Bentley is a very clever dog! I’m also wondering if the “bone” would work with kids.

Comments are closed.

