• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

Fun Monday #46

Funmondaylogo
Kitten (Kitten’s homeschool)  is today’s lovely hostess for Fun Monday.  She wants to know about our house and the street on which we live. (thanks Pam, I copied your intro)

I actually do know a bit of the history behind my place which I think is prett unusual unless you either built or bought your house new, and while it isn’t very exciting, it is a little interesting. I’m not expecting to win a prize for  either the oldest or the best looking house, but I’m fine with that because I’m happy with my little house on the prairie (actually it’s on the Liverpool Plains)

Let’s start with the house
1_house_2

The house is nothing special, but it is very comfortable and I have no near neighbours. It was built in 1967 by Frank Heyman for his farmhand and family. I got to know Frank very well, as he and his wife Elanore lived on the neighbouring property (I actually met the farmhand too, who has long since retired). I learned quite a bit about the house from Frank, but I learned much more about the history of the region from Elanore when I used to go an visit her after Frank died last year (he was 80 years old and was born in the house he and Elanore lived in.

The roof, as you may have noticed, is corrugated iron. Corrugated iron is an icon of outback life, along with blowflies and outside dunnies (I have plenty of flies, but at least my toilet is inside). There’s not much more to say about the house except that it is solid, straight, and is made of cyprus pine (which the termites don’t like). It’s not connected to either town water or sewer and has no garbage collection, which actually makes it pretty cheap to live in

Now, the road (and this is where it gets interesting)…
2_road

I suppose the first thing that pops into my mind when I look at this picture (that I took five minutes ago) is "How come there’s lines painted on such small road in the middle of nowhere?" The answer is simple really, even though now my road is only 7 kms long and has only one other house on it, 30 years ago when my house was built, it was in fact part of the New England Highway.

But not long after the house was completed, they commenced work on the a new route, so for the past 25 years it has been a rather quiet little outback road, used mostly by those who live on it and the occasional cattle truck.

And finally, a little about the region
4_aerial

The land my house sits on, was originally part of Warrah Station (that link gives a short history), which was over 250,000 acres, but over the years was subdivided to the point where apart fro the main Station itself (which was still fairly large), most properties were around the 40-60 thousand acres. Frank’s father owned one of the 60 thousand acre properties, but by the time Frank retired is was only around 10 thousand acres. Rohan (the name of Brett’s property) goes about 7 miles into the distance, 3 miles to the right of the picture and about a mile to the left.

When Frank retired he sold the bulk of what was left to my neighbour Brett (who I bought my house off), he decided that he wanted to build a bigger home for his young family on the other side of the highway (his property straddles the New England Hwy). So he cut off a few acres around the house and sold the house and land to me, and I’m glad he did.

Now I suppose you could ask how I can settle for living in a small fibro and iron place three hours from the nearest beach?  Again, the answer is simple…we also have this place ten minutes from here, but I don’t go there much, as I prefer it where I am (too many neighbours on the Coast), and MDW usually comes up here anyway.

Have a Fun Monday.

44 Responses

  1. and that, i think, makes you Landed Gentry.

    i think i would like a corrugated tin roof. it must sound great when it rains.

  2. Such an awesome location. I think you have found yourself a goldmine! Our first home had a tin roof and the rain does sound divine as it dances along.

  3. Beautiful country…I would love to live in the country with no neighbors in sight…sounds like heaven!!

  4. It looks lovely and green. Yeah for rain, huh?

    I was thinking Thornbirds when you were talking about the station.

  5. I’m with Laurie – I love the sound of rain on metal and might come visit you just for that. Now that I have your address and all (go to Liverpool Plains and wander around until you see the house is as close as I’ll ever get, I suspect ;)).

    Beautiful. Both houses. And the landscape near both is incredible.

  6. Great post!

    Your house is actually about the color I would like to redo ours in. And with burgundy trim, too yet.

    Nice roof!

    I love the aeriel shot–now all those pieces and parts we’ve seen have been put together.

  7. Looks good to me!

    That was a great post – beautiful land that you live in.

    I didn’t play this week.

  8. It’s really lovely – I love your verandah (yay! speled it rite!) and your neatly mown lawn. You could sit there happily and sip a G&T.
    I like homes with a bit of history to them.

  9. I still think it is a very lovely home. I really enjoyed reading the history. The pictures are wonderful!

  10. I love the wide open space you have. It must be very quiet and peaceful. Our neighbours are way too close for comfort.

    How does one get to play “Fun Monday?”

  11. You. Are. Killing. Me.

    Seriously. Can I be morphed into being you next time around??

  12. Like Mother Like Daughter-

    When you were talking about the Station and how much land was originally in one part – I was thinking “Thorn Birds”.

    Lovely place, really! I can see why you live there.

  13. beautiful countryside … i’m jealous.

  14. I so wish I’d thought of fun monday this week, I have researched my place at the historical society and know it is old for us, built in 1894. I loved your post today.

  15. Wow….I’d LOVE the country living like you have. I’m so envious.

  16. Wow, you live in a stunning place. And your other house is near that beach. You are sooo lucky.
    I’d prefer the location you choose to spend most time in too though.

  17. There is indeed a lot of land around your house ! In Belgium we are rather squeezed together ! Old Europe you know ! and our houses are in bricks never in wood. I love your secondary residence ! Looks very pretty !

  18. I love your fascinating post. Where you live is beautiful. I am not sure that such a remote place is the home for me. However, there are days when being far removed from others would seem like heaven. Having two places does offer some variety.

    As you know, I went in a different direction for this Monday.

  19. Looks like the best of both worlds. Secluded home and access to the beach. Ditto with me. The farther away the neighbors, the better.

  20. You have a very nice home! Love the fact you are so far out. I wished we did. LOL! Great history there to hold on to also.

  21. I love your house. We lost a few shingles during the last storm and are looking at putting a metal roof on the house. My folks had a fiberglass carport next to my room when I was growing up and I always loved the sound of the rain on it. The acorns? A little loud, sometimes.

  22. Just beautiful! I’d love to have that much open space.

  23. You certainly don’t need me to up your comment count…but the history of your place is quite interesting so I thought I’d tell you anyway. You’re welcome.

  24. The Liverpool Plains are still looking pretty good WT, you must be getting a bit of rain occasionally?

  25. Looks like you have the best of both worlds with your two homes.

    I think it’s great that you know so much about the history of your house, guess that’s what makes this Fun Monday such an interesting one.

  26. This post makes me want to visit Australia. The countryside is gorgeous and it looks very peaceful.

  27. From where I am sitting in New York City, your place looks like heaven.

  28. Oh wow! Everything is so beautiful! I’ve always said I could never live out in the middle of nowhere, but now that I live in a downtown area and all I see are houses and high rise office buildings and the fact that I’m getting older, things seem to be changing for me. I think I could appreciate seeing views like the one you have.

  29. Solid and straight are two of the TOP priorities in a house – and we have metal roofs around here, but I don’t think they are made of the same material. Your house looks easy to maintain – which is a plus!

  30. How fun to come all the way to Australia and enjoy your home and it’s road! And what a road!

  31. I think you have a good balance in your two homes. A peaceful country retreat and a place near a fabulous beach~ what more could anyone want (even if you don’t use it much)! I’ve often wondered what it would be like to have a corrugated iron roof, but I guess the noise when it rains is a small price to pay for all the benefits of living a stress free life.

    The history of the area and your house is so interesting~ especially the bit about the road, which I think you may have mentioned before.
    I suppose you could always bath in the pond if you were desperate!

  32. Wonderful house and property, I can imagine living there would be perfect. And having the house on the coast to visit, what more could you want? I loved the view, need any visitors? 😀

  33. Hurrah for cyprus pine! anything termites don’t like is a favorite of mine!

    I love it – love the long views, the road, the trees near the house.

    oh yeh, the coast house is great too. but my heart yearns for quiet.

  34. Wow – great post!

  35. Great pics. I use to live in a house with a metal roof. When it rained the sound was very relaxing to me.

  36. Your house on the coast is lovely, but I like the little house on the prairie with the big view better. It’s gorgeous! The history part was actually very interesting, too. I wish I could dig up more history on our place. I’m trying, but it’s not getting anywhere too quickly.

  37. This comment is from TypePad Support to test if there is a delay before it shows up.

  38. I bet Elanore appreciated those visits; your sensitivity to others’ pain used to be a surprise…now, I just think it’s sweet.

    This post was EXACTLY what Katie was after…there’s just not that much to know about our place (and no one to tell me if there was). You definitely enjoy wide open spaces…the critters can roam.

    I also wondered, and this is probably a “duh” question, what’s the difference b/t corrugated iron and tin? I had never heard of an iron roof before….

  39. A great place. I stayed in Newcastle for a couple of days with family of my pen friend. A great bit of history of your place.

  40. Them are big plots of land there. Glad you were able to get a nice quiet piece of it. I can appreciate why you like it out there. The quiteness and the privacy. Our subdivision is pretty quiet for the most part. We can’t see the neighbours and they can’t see us as we are surrounded by bush. We also don’t have city water or sewer system. We have a well and septic system. I like your other place. That one must be a pretty nice retreat. Looks like you have the best of both worlds.

  41. That’s a great story. Thanks for sharing it. And to think I practically drive right past your place every time I go up that way, on my way up and back from Bathurst! Woah!

    I love the landscape around the Liverpool Pains, so it’s nice to actually see someone who lives in that region.

    Gotta love the way those old highways get bypassed and become infrequently-travelled backwaters, huh? That’s a great photo too.

    Cyalayta
    Mal 🙂

  42. i would love to live in the middle of nowhere like that…so what do you do with the garbage?

  43. Such an amazing country you live in WT. Both homes are lovely.

  44. Just getting caught up on my reading. I also love metal roofs (they’re often referred to as “tin roofs” here). Your house looks a lot like the houses around here, complete with yellow siding and tin roof. I think you’ve got a bit more land to work with, though. *grin*

Comments are closed.

