• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

The diferrence between TypePad and Booger.

We are all well aware of the spam fiasco that happened here over past couple of days, I’ll repeat that last bit "over the past couple of days". Bearing in mind that I’ve been listening to people complain about Booger® for a year and a half (and personally, I’m at the point where commenting on Booger® blogs is almost more trouble than it’s worth), I guess two days of stuff ups on an otherwise unblemished service record from TypePad isn’t all that bad.

But here’s where they really shine. Not only did they listen to their customers, and not only did they treat it as a priority, they took their customers’ advice and backed out the change. When was the last time that you saw Booger® overcome it’s arrogance and do that? But that’s not where it ends, here’s something else you’ll never, ever see Booger® do.

The following is from the "Everything TypePad" blog, which keeps customers up to date on product development (as opposed to the ‘Six Apart Status‘ page that constantly informs users as to the availability of Six Apart products. What? Booger® doesn’t have one of those? What a shame).

December 20, 2007

Spam update: We messed up, but we’re back on track

We’re sorry. We messed up, the anti spam system got way too aggressive, and we were trying to dial it back in small increments instead of what we eventually did, which was flipping all the way back to a setting that we know works for most people.

The truth is, making a system that learns from spam over time is
tricky. we’ve been seeing a lot of success overall, but that doesn’t make up for the fact that the overzealous spam filter has been interrupting your conversations over the last day or two. Put simply: We’re sorry, and we think we’ve got it fixed now.

Just as importantly, we’re putting in place some processes to make
sure that if the anti-spam system tries to get too aggressive again, we can dial it back more quickly. Please do let us know how we’re doing, and get in touch using the help ticket system if you need any
assistance.

Sincerely –
The TypePad Team

I appreciate that Booger® is free, but as they say "you get what you pay for".

I’ll show you what was in Gawilli’s box later today.

12 Responses

  1. What kind of trouble do you have commenting on Blogger? I’m just curious, especially since that’s what I have.

  2. Oh, hey, I was first. That never happens.

  3. It is good that TypePad does that. I know Joy T always bitches…complains about TypePad a lot. I use WordPress as you know…and I haven’t had too many issues. There are a few niggling things I’d like to see changed but for the most part it is good. If I ever change from WordPress, I might try TypePad.

  4. I echo kaycie… what kinda’ trouble do you have commenting? Cause I don’t, but since I have “them” I’d like to know….

  5. The only thing I’ve ever complained about when it comes to Typepad is when people were trying to comment one time and the thing would time out or this dreaded word verification/spam thing. Both justified bitches…complaints in my eyes. I am always quick to add the good as well though and have always said they answer their tickets fast and efficiently. This last post they put out to us I think proves how dedicated they are to their users. I really do like Typepad. If I didn’t, I wouldn’t continue to pay for the service.

  6. Huh…Booger works good for me, but then, I’m a Neophyte, so WTF do I know?

    Free is good. Unless I could figure out how to write it off as a business expense.

    Sheesh – anyone know how to get rid of profit when you have no cash? I took a crapload of profit and paid down my debt – which started at over a quarter-million dollars (part of buying your own damn company and building to boot) – now it’s almost paid off, and the tax man cometh. WHY do I get to pay the government moolah for being responsible?

    And WHY am I using Willowtree’s comment space for my rant?

    Guess I have to rant to someone. Why not to the blogosphere’s King Ranter?

  7. Oh we should all use this space to rant in! Look at these shoes! I’ve only had them three weeks and the heels are worn right through.

    And on the real subject, you DO get what you pay for. I would love to move to my own domain and stop being so reliant on Booger, but I know not how…

  8. Kaycie – Check your email for the response.

    Sirdar – Uh oh, I think Joy has done a response for you.

    Hayden – Ditto as per Kaycie.

    Joy – They were not only justified complaints in your eyes, but also in TypePad’s eyes, hence the swift action and apology.

    Tiff – I would have thought that a business logo and a few posts about property in Mena would qualify your blog as a business expense.

    ToB – Rant away, but you know what they say about women with worn heels….

  9. Not to put you on the spot or anything, but I’d like to know what kaycie asked, too. What kind of problems do you have commenting on Booger? Does it take longer, do you have to take extra steps, what is it? I comment on a lot of Booger pages, but since it’s what I have, I’m sure it’s simpler for me.

    And one last thing. Seriously speaking, what kind of time frame did it take you to switch over to TP? Hours? Days? The money doesn’t bother me as much as the fear that I’m going to somehow delete my whole frickin’ blog switching it over.

  10. Some booger blog comment boxes show the nickname and a url box, which I think is a new addition. In my comment window if you choose nickname then the url box shows up. Is that helpful at all for non booger users? Just thought I’d share. Glad typepad got fixed and that I’m not Spam anymore!

  11. “Booger” cracks me up- I never would have thought of that.

  12. Hmmm, ahh,, ok,,point taken and filed away.

Comments are closed.

