• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

Belle update, updated

Sorry to disappoint you, but there’s no news right now. What I can tell you is that if things have gone according to schedule she will have just gone under the knife. They are expecting the surgery to take between 5 and 6 hours, depending on how much my house is worth. Which brings me to the reason for the delay.

Apparently, seeing as I have no children to give them, the only alternative was give them the deed to my house. Unfortunately this necessitated the involvement of lawyers, and while their hourly rate is less than the vet, they take longer to do their work in order to compensate, hence the delay.

Actually, there were a couple of surgeries that were more critical that had to be done first, and as Belle was stable and in no pain, she was left until today to ensure there was as little swelling as possible.

CarThis vehicle wasn’t involved in the accident, it does however go pretty close to what I said when I found Belle. I may have been a little more expressive (read profane*) but I can’t really say for sure as I was panicking at the time…

* If you had an Abrams with dirty words written on it, would that make it a profane tank?

Update 7:20pm: I just got off the phone to the dog surgeon (man it’s just amazing what they can teach dogs to do these days!) and he was pretty happy overall, but it wasn’t 100% the result they were hoping for. The break close to the knee was able to be fixed with a series of cross pins. However after he had successfully implanted the very small pins in the ball joint at the hip end, everything came apart as they tried to get it back into the socket due to the lack of sufficient bone thickness to work with. So unfortunately as was explained prior to the operation, they had to cut the damaged joint out. Basically that means they shape the top of the femur to fit in the socket. I’ll go and see her tomorrow, but I’ll be leaving her there for a few days just to make sure she’s immobile.

31 Responses

  1. So that’s where dirty bombs come from?

  2. Are you as “okay” as you sound?

  3. A profane tank, you are too funny.

    Thanks for the Belle update. Giving the swelling time to go down was a good thing.

    I’m so proud to see that the featured license plate is from my home state. (That’s what mine looks like, though not as clever.) The prisoners had fun making that one. And our state employees are obviously on the ball.

  4. Boy, those lawyers have their fingers in all kinds of pies, don’t they?

    How can you not be online if you’ve just posted? I know I’m a computer idiot, but still…

  5. can’t think of a comment, so hey, wt.

  6. Less swelling is definitely better. I do hate that she’s just sitting there waiting, though. Have you been to see her?

  7. Glad to see your sense of humour is still intact (more or less) … Good to have a bit of comic relief to take the edge off eh?

  8. I’m with ‘Robin-Pensive’ on this one… are you really doing OK? if you need someone to talk to (“Two ears, no waiting”), drop me an email and we can always have a chat on the phone – but only if you’re comfortable with that, matey.
    Cyalayta
    Mal 🙂

  9. Ah some good news then but not a 100% what you wanted to hear no doubt.

    May her progress continue to be good and her prognosis excellent.

    Chin up, once you have lost your home, worldly goods and any hope of life ever being the same again just to pay the vet bills you’ll still have Mrs WT and the thee dogs to keep you warm in the tent that you will have picked up from your local charitable organisation.

    1.2.3.now……

    Some things in life are bad
    They can really make you mad
    Other things just make you swear and curse.
    When you’re chewing on life’s gristle
    Don’t grumble, give a whistle
    And this’ll help things turn out for the best…

    And…always look on the bright side of life…
    Always look on the light side of life…

    If life seems jolly rotten
    There’s something you’ve forgotten
    And that’s to laugh and smile and dance and sing.
    When you’re feeling in the dumps
    Don’t be silly chumps
    Just purse your lips and whistle – that’s the thing.

    And…always look on the bright side of life…
    Always look on the light side of life…

    For life is quite absurd
    And death’s the final word
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.
    Forget about your sin – give the audience a grin
    Enjoy it – it’s your last chance anyhow.

    So always look on the bright side of death
    Just before you draw your terminal breath

    Life’s a piece of shit
    When you look at it
    Life’s a laugh and death’s a joke, it’s true.
    You’ll see it’s all a show
    Keep ’em laughing as you go
    Just remember that the last laugh is on you.

    And always look on the bright side of life…
    Always look on the right side of life…
    (Come on guys, cheer up!)
    Always look on the bright side of life…
    Always look on the bright side of life…
    (Worse things happen at sea, you know.)
    Always look on the bright side of life…
    (I mean – what have you got to lose?)
    (You know, you come from nothing – you’re going back to nothing.
    What have you lost? Nothing!)
    Always look on the right side of life…

  10. I’ve got everything crossed that Belle will be okay, despite the setback in surgery. I mean everything, eyes, toes, fingers, legs..even my arms…..

  11. Despite the set back that seems encouraging news. I’m sure she will be pleased to see you and she is in good hands. Thinking of you.

    The number plate says it all!

    BTW in answer to your ?~ Topsy has been feeding by herself, you probably didn’t see the video I posted.

  12. It appear MOB and I are soul sisters!

    So I wound cyber sing to you today, but I will share that I once dated a profane tank. Yeah. I don’t recommend it.

    So I guess poor sweet Belle will need some physical therapy? Especially since it appears her li’l leg will be shorter now? Give her ear scratches and puppy kisses for me, okay?

  13. I’m just getting caught up on the Belle saga, now. I’m glad she’s starting her recovery, but it sounds like it will be a long and possibly painful one. (Yeah, I know, I’m full of sunshine, sorry). I know she’ll be happy to see you, though. You’ll be in my thoughts.

  14. Thanks for the updates. I have been checking to see if there is news of our Belle. Well okay, she is your Belle, but those of us in your blogging world think your pets as our pets. When you see Belle, give her an extra pat under the chin from her Internet friends.

    Take care of yourself; I hope that your trip is good.

  15. oh golly that sounds painful. the poor little gal.

    they had boscoe on a fetanyl patch for a while after his surgery, and then i had to give him powerful painkillers by syringe (not injections–squirted into his mouth) for about a week or so after.

    if you want to read all the gory details about his recovery, you can go read the saga on my blog (it’s in the sidebar–“just like duante culpepper, boscoe blows out his knee”)

    it was an easier surgery than belle’s, since it only involved the knee and not the hip, but i suspect you’ll be wrestling with some of the same things i did during her recovery–keeping her quiet, getting her to walk but not walk too much, keeping her away from the other dogs, and, the biggie, pain management.

    good luck, WT.

  16. One of my past dogs once snapped a tendon in her hind leg while in a fit of running – it got replaced and she was stuck in a cage for 6 weeks. I suspect Belle will be as ecstatic as Trine was about the incarceration, but hopefully, she’ll recover as well.

    And speaking of that… with the change in plan during surgery, what are the implications for Belle
    s mobility once she’s healed?

  17. Aw shit. We’re away for a week or two and look what happens…
    Sorry to hear about all this WT – hope everyone really is OK. We’re thinking of you…

  18. Profane tank indeed. good to see you’re in fine shape!!

  19. Dogs have amazing recuperating abilities. I bet in 6 months time you won’t even know she ever was hit by a car!!!

  20. Hugs…and more hugs.

  21. I’m ridiculously happy she came through the surgery okay. Tell Belle she’s singlehandedly responsible for my return to commenting.

  22. Looks like she will be just great! Thats wonderful news! Maxi had the same thing done (without the pins though) when she was five months old. The vet had no choice and did not even try to fix it, the joint was totally crushed. She came through just fine and now 12 years later she just limps a bit when its cold. Glad its all over for her! Wish I could say the same about your wallet!

  23. You and Belle are in my thoughts and prayers…hoping for the best!

  24. oh yeah, the limping a bit when it’s cold… that’s something to keep in mind, WT.

    boscoe’s vet said the damage to his knee meant he was more prone to arthritis now. so we give him glucosamine tablets. he loves ’em. they taste like beef, apparently. (i haven’t tried one.)

  25. I’m sorry to hear that the hip part of the surgery didn’t work out the way they hoped. But if it is any consulation, dogs really do great with the femoral head excision. Especially dogs her size. Once she’s healed I bet you’ll hardly be able to tell anything happened. I’m glad she has you to take such good care of her. Be sure to keep her away from the creek while she has those pins in…don’t want infection. Thanks for keeping us posted on how she’s doing. I still want to lynch the ratbastard that hit her and left her bleeding by the side of the road. I just don’t know how anyone could possibly do that. There is NO excuse. I’m so glad she’s going to be ok. Hang in there!

  26. Glad that it went as well as it did – sorry it didn’t go better.

    I loved the license plate and the profane tank. Very witty.

    Keeping all y’all in my prayers.

    AND, I agree with equoni about the rb that hit her! There is a special circle of hell for assholes like that.

  27. I came in on the ass end of it, but I hope everything goes well for poor Belle and your wallet. Ouch!! to both. Love the new colors here.

  28. oooh, my! I’m just hoping little Belle is feeling all ironic and dark humored like you are – glad to hear that she came through the surgery in good shape. That’s always the main thing – coming out of the other side strong.

    hang in there, both of you!

  29. Oh Crikey!

  30. “everything came apart” *shudder!*

    I hope they are able to shape that femur. Poor girl.

    Hope you’re doing OK, Belle! Hugs and kisses and Scooby Snacks to you.

  31. I hope Belle is stable and mending. She has such a sweet face. I’m rooting for her recovery and I bet she is made of just the right stuff.

Comments are closed.

