• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

Deja vu, again

Last night just as I was about to go to bed, I noticed that there was documentary series about the 60s that about to start, I was tired so I recorded it for viewing today. This afternoon, I remembered what I had done, so I rewound the tape and hit the play button. The tape started with some of that self promotion crap that you get on public television between shows, so I decided to make a cup of coffee rather than fast forward it.

As I was waiting for the jug to boil (hey, I'm an Aussie, we drink instant, deal with it) and generally putzing around the kitchen, I could hear the TV, but wasn't really paying attention to it. Slowly the white noise crept into my conscience when I could hear a Southern American accent telling me that he had ordered his forces to attack because of blah, blah, I tuned out again, blah, blah blah clear and present danger, followed by voice-over announcing that this was later proved to be a lie.

What I assumed to be a newsreader, delivering a news update, had caught my attention, "Ah-ha!" I thought with all the smugness of someone who is always right. "They finally nailed old Dubya! But How did they prove he was lying?" So I stopped what I was doing and turned to watch the TV. I was shocked, confused and somewhat dismayed to see that it was Lyndon Johnson addressing the nation with the news that he was escalating the Vietnam conflict….When will we learn.

Ha ha ha!

I'm sorry, I'm not laughing about the tragedy of war. As I was typing this, I was listening to the news, it seems that a court case in Sydney has just been declared a mis-trial after racking up costs of over five hundred thousand dollars becasue one of the defense lawyers noticed that a few of the jurors were writing their notes not only horizontally, but vertically as well. When she quietly snuck a look, she saw that they were all playing Sudoko! The judge asked the foreman about it (who was one of the ones playing) and she said that the testimony was boring, so after three weeks and 185 witnesses, the (drug trafficing) trial was declared a complete stuff up! Ha ha ha! You gotta love our respect for the law.

23 Responses

  1. Fundamentally, most of us want to do what we want to do without anyone telling us we can’t do it.

    What a sad state that a jury ‘got bored’ and ended up wasting over five hundred thousand dollars. What assholes, and how stupid are they! Because at the end of the day it’s coming out of their collective pockets. And they thought playing Sudoko was free:/.

    Such asshats in the world.

  2. I’m afraid I have to agree with you TLG.

  3. Willowtree, you might be an aussie and drink instant, but using the word ‘putzing’ is rather merkin, innit?

  4. errr… in the ‘american’ sense of the word merkin, that is 😉

  5. LLM, I thought that “merkin” meant something rather different…although I do some Americans that would qualify as merkins of another sort.

  6. Indeed, when we will ever learn?

  7. I can see my vocabulary is sadly lacking~I had to look up both words (putzing/ merkin)!!

  8. HA!!! Willow, that is absolutely brilliant! On both accounts!

  9. Ha, WT. Why am I not surprised?

    What the hell is a merkin?

  10. The parallels are SOOOO blatant…I don’t understand why more people can’t see them. It makes me want to SCREAM!!! Pretty much the ONLY difference is jungle vs desert. Otherwise you can use the exact same news clips, the same speeches, the same STUPID presidental moves. And vets coming home with the same problems. And no one seems to have learned a damn thing. I don’t understand why no one else can see this. Thank you for at least showing me that ONE person in this world noticed the same thing I’ve noticed.

  11. I’m sorry.. I’m stuck on the instant coffee thing. That would raise my threat level to orange.

    I’m buying you a french press.

  12. Ditto marnie. French presses are the only way to make coffee.

    And that’s from a merkin.

  13. I agree with Marnie :-), But I give you a double “sigh” when it comes to the war(wars).
    So sad that we never learn.

  14. I can almost hear “where have all the flowers gone?” playing in the background.

    PS: I love instant coffee.

  15. LMM – It’s actually yiddish.

    Molly – Merkin means what you think it does. Unfortunately, calling those who are American ‘merkins’ is just another Dubya legacy. He has been quoted numerous times saying “My fellow Merkins”

    Chris – I hope you were enlightened.

    TLG – You really don’t want me to explain it to you in public (or should that be pubic?).

    Equoni – It’s sad isn’t it.

    Marnie – You have my address I look forward to receiving my coffee machine.

    Tiff – You obviously didn’t look up merkin, or maybe you did.

    Annie – It would be funny if it wasn’t for all the loss of life.

    Sandy – I don’t understand the American hatred of instant coffee, (or the Canadian for that matter)

  16. Yes, it is sad. And as you can tell it pisses me off.
    And you had me so riled up about the war that I totally let the instant coffee thing slip by…so let me remedy that…instant coffee is just one or two steps up the food ladder from dead cow!
    And the sudoku in the jury box…that’s too funny. We have a murder trial going on right now that I never would have made it through without totally breaking out laughing. Because the theory the defense is trying to feed the jury is so ludicrous it is HYSTERICAL. They want you to believe that this guy blew his brains out and THEN got up out of bed, wrapped the gun in a towel, went out to the garage, hid it in his motorcycle bag, then went and tucked himself back into bed where his wife found him. They’re still trying to esplain the glove with HER DNA on the inside and his blood and gunshot residue on the outside, which was found in HER car…which was supposedly 100 miles away at the time of the “suicide”. I don’t know how they do it with a straight face!!!

  17. Well that’s just plain dumb! We all know that the only person who can apparently function without a working brain George Walker Bush.

  18. WT….add the Italian dislike of instant coffee to the list. I mean really, if you’re waiting for water to boil, just make espresso for chrissakes!

  19. Heres a thought, lets all NOT watch TV! But we will still drink lots of that instant coffee! Can’t live with out it!

  20. Raising a hand to join the Instant Coffee Brigade. Must be a southern hemisphere thing. Reminds me to go put the kettle on.
    Oh and the Sudoku Scandal made 6pm headlines here. **rolls eyes**

  21. I hate sudoku. I would have been doing a crossword puzzle. LBJ…GWB…does it really matter?? We are at the mercy of our politicians!!

  22. Hee hee. No, I’m laughng at y9u laughing, not at the war stuff. That’s just scary.

Comments are closed.

