• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

Fun Monday-Birthday Stories

This is my first Fun Monday…so be patient with me if I don’t get it quite right!

“IamwhoIam” at Dungareesablaze is our hostess this week.  She gave us this assignment:

As of late I have been consumed with preparation for my Father’s aka “The Old One” Birthday, he will be turning 90 on August 8th and we are doing a family reunion, expecting about 100 people in all. So for your assignment lets hear about your favorite “Birthday”, it needn’t be your actual birthday just a “birthday” celebration. You can use one you planned, one you attended, one you crashed, just a fun time for this FUN MONDAY’S assignment, and of course you can use one of your very on Birthdays.

My birthday story is actually more of a trend, so I have to share more than one story to demonstrate the trend…but I’ll spare you the whole saga.  My birthdays used to be fine…even fun.  Things started to drastically change when I turned 17.  On my 17th birthday not only did pretty much everyone forget my birthday…but my horse, Buster, got colic and almost died!  I spent the whole afternoon trying to keep him walking to keep him from “going down”.  (See, when a horse colics if they lay down or roll their intestines can twist and if they don’t get surgery right away they will die.)  He was very, very sick and he kept putting his head on my shoulder (a sick horse’s head is very heavy!) and trying to go down.  I had to practically drag him forward, all the time begging him, through tears, as only a teenage girl can do, to please not die.

Buster Brown

The trend has continued to this day…but I think it reached its peak the year that I tried to go to Yellowstone.  I could only get one day off of work between my two jobs, so my plan was to drive most of the way after work, “camp” in the car, then go to Yellowstone on my birthday.  There I was, sleeping in the back of a Toyota Tercel when at 6:00am I awoke to the unmistakable sounds of a 120 pound dog throwing up…in my car…RIGHT NEXT TO MY HEAD!!!!  That pretty much cancelled the trip, ruined the day, and perfectly sums up my birthdays since I was 17!

Tercel in Tetons

Scotch

This is the dog, Scotch, on another ill-fated birthday…but that’s another story for another day…at least I got a great picture out of it!!!

