• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

Sometimes plurk just doesn’t do justice to the story.

Hi everybody! (in case you have your volume down, that was said by Dr Nick Riviera) I thought that now would be a good time for a post, seeing as how a bunch of Swiss geeks are planning to annihilate the world later today, so this may be my last post ever; that and something blogworthy finally happened earlier today, and while I plurked it, it didn’t really do justice to it, so here’s the post version.

In a case of life imitating art (and I’m talking the good stuff here, cartoons) my life for the past couple of months has mirrored the antics of Pinky and the Brain. Those who are familiar with the show would recognise this exchange from the beginning of each episode:

Pinky says “What are we going to do today Brain?” To which the Brain replies “Same thing we do everyday, try to takeover the world.” (or something like that, I’m going from memory). And so it is with me and my life, in fact the exchange is eerily similar… Willowtree says “What are we doing today DingoBarbie?”. DingoBarbie replies “Same thing we do everyday, plurk and eat”

And that would have been the end of it, if it weren’t for Belle. Ah yes, you remember Belle the three legged natural disaster, don’t you?. There I was plurking away merrily when I was startled by a series of loud and frenetic noises issuing from the other end of the house. Things were crashing everywhere, and had I given a shit, I may have even gone to see what the deal was. Luckily I didn’t have to, because it came to me. Next minute, Belle came racing down the hall with one of those huge woven bags that you buy for a buck in flea markets, hanging from her neck, this one in fact…

Over here we call them Filipino travel luggage, yes I know, it’s a bit harsh, but they do tend to arrive carrying them. That picture doesn’t really do it justice, as it’s actually the largest size you can get, but because that box of NutriGran is the jumbo size, it doesn’t look as big as it really is. Oh hey I just remembered, there’s a photo of Buddy sitting next to it, hang on…

Anyway, I digress. It seems that Belle had managed to get her head stuck in the handle, and was doing a pretty good impersonation of a cat with a rocket up it’s butt. This is just some of the carnage…

One of those chairs is from the other side of the table, she managed to drag it all the way under, and there were empty milk bottles (is it still called a bottle if it’s made out of plastic?) and cardboard boxes strewn from one end of the house to the other( the bag was full of stuff to be recycled). Funny thing, I’m not sure why, either I’ve forgotten how to be a blogger, or my pet owner instincts overcame my blogging instincts, but becasue she was freaking out so much, I freed her from the bag of death before I took a picture for you.  Oh well.  I did however, take this one immediately afterwards…

Too bad she doesn’t stay scared for long! She’ll be back dicing with death before I know it.

If you want to see what this looks like as a plurk click the link.

And this is what it actually looks like on my timeline…

So there you have it. Not brilliant, but better than nothing I guess.

33 Responses

  1. Fancy blaming poor Belle because you haven’t tidied up LOL.
    We are still here so the big bang was a damp squid!

  2. What? You mean the world hasn’t ended? Dang…

  3. a) a LOVE that dog

    b) i’m glad you finally posted something because i was beginning to think that a dingo had your brain. but now i see it was just, sadly, plurk.

    c) i am vastly jealous of all your plurk buddies.

    d) but not so jealous that i would want to actually learn how to do plurk.

    e) this is as high in the alphabet as i go.

  4. I figured you would re-enact the photo? Geez!

  5. First time visitor to your blog! This article had me entranced from start to end … because I can totally relate! Our four cats do silly yet amusing things like that too!
    Interesting that you managed to get photographs of all the activity, and that the Plurk world had to be told. That’s the sign that the online society is an integral part of our lives.

  6. HOLY SHIT!!!! Could it really be?!?! A NEW POST ON THE DINGO?!?!?!!!!!!!! Regurgitated plurk, but still, something other than “my booty beach party”. I’ll let you in on a little secret…several of us got together and tied that bag on Belle’s neck just to try to get some new material out of you!!!!! Belle didn’t mind…she’s always up for some new adventure, and destroying the house sounded like fun!!!

  7. My GOODNESS! It’s so much bigger and better in blog life! and all tied together with words! You’re right, the Plurk brief just doesn’t do it justice. I was wishing you had video, but this is almost as good.

    Reminds me of the time one of the cats walked through the handle of a plastic grocery store bag and it got caught on her tail. She ran all over the apartment trying to get away from the noisy, rattly thing that was “chasing” her.

    I just sat there and laughed.

    That Belle, she keeps you grounded in reality.

  8. Thanks for starting my day with a laugh. And thanks to Belle for yet again doing something completely blogworthy!

    it’s nice to see you posting again, I was thisclose to emailing you to see if you and the new camera had progressed to something perverted. What other eason could there be for you not tantalizing us with posts filled with examples of the fun the two of you have been having?

  9. My cat did that once with an empty paper bag….thought she was going to have a heart attack she was panting so much after I managed to get her and that stupid bag off her neck!
    BTW…so do you sit at the computer all day plurking??

  10. MAYBE she was the Big Bang.

    hee hee.

  11. maybe she WAS the Big Bang

    My emphasis sucked.

  12. After I passed out from the shock of an update on bloglines from the Dingo, I clicked on over and was delighted to see that Belle is still spending her days causing you grief.

    Geez, she’s cute.

  13. … but have you looked around the house for Pinky and the Brain?

    This was OBVIOUSLY one of their attempts to take over the world, beginning with Australia.

    Are you thinking what I’m thinking Pinky?

    That you never really know what the lumps in blue cheese are?

    No Pinky! … If we can get Willow Tree, the most addicted of the plurkers and THEREFOR the LEAD plurker distracted for even a moment and away from his plurk screen … we can plant a virus in his computer which will be sent to all of his plurk buddies, and all of THEIR plurk buddies, and so on and so on and so on until EVERY COMPUTER IN THE WORLD WILL FLASH A MESSAGE TO BUY ASPARAGUS ON THURSDAY, PINKY!

    Great Brain! Gnarf! Why Asparagus?

    Pinky, you great lunk, because ASPARAGUS is NOT a common vegetable and therefor is available in LIMITED SUPPLY!!!. If everyone goes to buy it at once there won’t be enough for everyone and they’ll all begin fighting and civil war will break out everywhere! Just when the human race is about to destroy itself, We show up with Asparagus!!! The grateful humans will crown me as their leader and then … I WILL RULE THE WORLD!!!!!! BWA HA HA HAH AHAHHAHAHA.

    Where are we going to get enough asparagus, Brain?

    …. (black cloud forms over Brain’s head) …

    OK. We flash a message to buy carrots on Friday…. then …

    They’re Pinky and their Brain. They’re Pinky and their Brain. One’s head is rotten, the other’s insane! To prove their mousy worth. They’ll rule the universe. They’re Pinky, they’re Pinky and their Brain brain brain brain …. GNARF!

    BTW. I just noticed that all of your animals names start with B.

    Guess you already knew that.

    Just know that I KNOW that that means another sinister plot from Pinky and the Brain, a long term one, is afoot.

  14. … just correct the typos as you go along please. Especially, change the “their Brain” to “they’re Brain”.

    One’s ‘head’ is rotten? brain?

    I know why you don’t post often. It’s because when you DO, I come along and write a book on your comment page.

    heh heh.

    It’s how I’m going to take over the world.

  15. Plurk indeed, I am beginnign to really hate plurk!
    I laughed out loud, my cats do this sort of thing all the time. Kiss that Belle for me and don’t stay away so long next time.

  16. Good to see you back among the blogging. Since I quit Plurk (strangely no real withdrawal symptoms), the only way I’ve been able to tell you’re still alive is seeing you on the trivia quiz. I’ve got a pet post I need to write over at my blog, too. Slightly bigger pet, similar spastic freak out. That’s only part of the story though. Maybe I’ll get to it today. Or not. It’s only almost noon and that’s far too early to tell.

  17. Heh heh, Belle is mad. I love that she came to you to rescue her. 😀

  18. i bought a bag like that mexico. carry my swim stuff in it for the gym.

  19. Belle is such a good little telepathic puppy! She does not look the least little bit chastised and/or sorry.

    Good to see you among the blogging. I am not going to plurk, I am not going to plurk, I am not going to plurk…

  20. I thought we had lost you to plurkdom forever!! glad to have you back, briefly!!

    I love Belle…and I love her even more since she lives with you and not me!!

    This reminded me of a time a number of years ago when we were camping and a deer got a backpack stuck on his antlers. He was tearing through the campground like a wild banshee. Our young cousin, about 13 at the time was walking back from the bathroom when said deer ran right past him. He was so scared he jumped straight in the air and ran back to camp. How did we know he jumped straight in the air?? When he went back to collect his shoes he left behind they were were sitting perfectly side by side like he just took them off. We still laugh about this today!!

  21. Why can’t we have the re-enactment? LOL it’s a funny story wherever you read it but poor Belle!!

  22. That’s a good one!

    Now, I HAVE plurk, but I don’t know how to do it from my cell phone. Then again, I don’t twitter much, either…or blog…heck, maybe the world is ending for me?

  23. Saved by the Belle. No, I guess that is Belle saved by WT. Belle does look rather sheepish in the picture.

    My son used to love Pinky and the Brain. So maybe DingoBarbie is taking over the world by plurking if the Swiss don’t get us first. I believe that today was only a test. And here the Swiss pretend to be neutral, but they are busy trying to take over the world (or maybe take over the universe with their Big Bang Re-enactment.)

    My apologies to your Swiss readers.

  24. Too funny WT! I updated my blog and Plurk, although very afraid of Plurk. Luckily when i checked in this afternoon, it wouldn’t update, therefore causing me much stress and I closed it. Easy Squeazy!

  25. Thats more like it!

    LOL! I had wondered what was so special about that photo on plurk! Love the picture of Buddy he looks rather pissed off! Did you make “him” clean up the mess?

    Now whats wrong with Beau?

  26. Either Buddy makes the bag look big – or the bag looks Buddy look small.

    And yes – sometimes Plurk can’t tell the whole story. I’ve had a cat get their head stuck in a bag, but never a dog. funny.

  27. Well well well … fresh dingo!! Whoo-hoo! I know those bags, you could squirrell 100 kangaroos away in one of them and nobody would know.

  28. G’day WT, never a dull moment with Belle around!!!!! thanks for signing in as a follower…. now we’ll take over the world.

  29. hey there! Wanted to swing by and catch up a wee bit while I was in town and near a computer. 🙂

  30. Hey Darlin’…
    Just checking to see if you’re still breathing down/under there…

    Always love the pics of the babies. Buddy and Bubba could be brothers, except that Bubba is a Boxer. But they do favor each other so much.

    Belle is my hero. She just keeps on keeping on. Both my dogs sit like she does.

    For the record, we call those Mexican Shopping Bags…also probably poliltically incorrect, but who’s trying to be PC? HansMan uses them when he dives. I use them when I shop.

    Glad to see you are still posting, on occasion. Thrilled that you stopped by…and recognized the fertility god on my gate. Fertility god should get you some interesting hits on your search word list.

  31. Ooh, a post! We’ll take what we can get!

    “I freed her from the bag of death before I took a picture for you.” LOL, yep, definately out of practice!

    I haven’t blogged since Monday, can you believe it?

  32. um, the “Swiss geeks” have yet to “fine tune” the mechanics and machinery. Not holding breath waiting for universe to implode.

  33. love that photo – her eyes are HUGE. Ah beagles… nothing slows them down for long. Too much trouble waiting to happen, it’s their role in life to nudge it along. She’s still adorable.

Comments are closed.

