• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

A filler

I’m sorry but the dog ate my post, so while I wait for it to re-appear in a more compact form, here’s something I found a while ago that appealed to my love of English…

I take it you already know
of tough and bough and cough and dough?
Others may stumble, but not you,
on hiccough, thorough, laugh and through.
Well done! And now you wish, perhaps,
to learn of less familiar traps?

Beware of heard, a dreadful word,
that looks like beard and sounds like bird.
And dead — it’s said like bed not bead —
and for goodness’ sake don’t call it deed!
Watch out for meat and great and threat
(They rhyme with suite and straight and debt)

A moth is not the moth in mother,
nor both in bother, broth in brother.
And here is not a match for there,
nor dear and fear for bear and pear.
And then there’s dose and rose and lose —
just look them up — and goose and choose,
and cork and work and card and ward,
and font and front and word and sword,
and do and go and thwart and cart —
come, come I’ve hardly made a start.
A dreadful language? Man alive.
I’d mastered it when I was five.

28 Responses

  1. Nice! I dunno if this is the same as something I heard in English class. Anyhow, I’m forwarding this to my mother hehe.

  2. i’m looking for the word “nantucket,” but i can’t find it… you must have left off a stanza.

  3. I like that. It’s best appreciated read out loud.

  4. Very cute…just one problem…in Utah with their messed up way of doing things, Card and Ward (which has a different meaning there) rhyme.

    I hope Swampy has a chance to see this…She’d love it!!!

  5. amen brother…. that is why I’m glad I’m not an English teacher – I have trouble helping my own kids read.

  6. I’ve read somewhere that to read is good for us. You always provide clever material for us to ponder.

  7. are there any other languages with so many exceptions?

  8. Oh, man! That is awesome! Who wrote that?! I love it!

  9. Jolly good and very entertaining.

  10. Awesome! I read it out loud to my husband and only stuttered once. I consider that a success.

    Thanks.

  11. Ouch. No wonder I still have immigrant moments where I mangle the language…

  12. Haha! Good one.

    We teach kids to follow the rules, and then they have to learn all these words that DON’T follow the rules!

  13. I love that one too! It just took me back to when DB learned to read, he kept on looking at me like I was an idiot! (But YOU said sound it out! I did and you say Im wrong!) He really used to get quite annoyed!

  14. thanks. you’ve just reopened the old wounds of having to learn english! Grrrrr… (ok, not really but still…)

  15. BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

    Okay, back to cleaning for me!!

  16. That made my head hurt….that’s head like dead and hurt like dirt…..now I’m freakin’ channeling Dr. Seuss…..aughghhghghghgh!!!!

  17. Ha! Love it. (But how can card and ward rhyme? People at work are giving me funny looks as I say them out loud trying all kinds of pronunciations. I should stop now.)

  18. Unlike the poem says, I didn’t master English at 5… (or since)
    good filler post WT.

  19. Cool poem. Did you write it?

  20. That’s great, loved it, though quite confusing to read as my brain is still trying to function this morning.

  21. Very cool poem! Now….have you ever studied French? They’d give us a run for our money!!

  22. I like your blog!
    Thanks for your visit & words of wisdom you left on mine 🙂
    Hope you’ll come again.

  23. So since your all poetic and all and you have not had anything else to say for a few days, I think you should totally write me an I HATE TELSTRA post. I would do it myself but my internet speed is so damned slow a snail looks like its speeding next to it. I am having blog withdrawals and all. It turns out Telstras idea of high speed internet is only relevant to those who actually go on the internet once a month! (And then there’s the fact that I have to stick to my NICE blog persona! And I am feeling down right nasty at the moment (shock horror) Telstra is right up there with the tupperware lady who has been holding on to my replacement lids for 5 months. See I really am a patient person so you can just imagine how pissed off I am at Telstra right now. I would really like to see you let it rip (not literally dear). And feel free to hijack my blog!

  24. This wasn’t quite as filling as you think. You’re due for a new post, aren’t you? Or were you waiting until we had all memorized the poem?

  25. ha! That was awesome. I thought I handle on it because I knew the first line … the others are doozies.

    I’m back! I was in hiding for a month, but I’m back again to daily posting.

    And not so daily visiting. I’ve tackled something challenging this year and it’s kicking my butt.

  26. the thing I have tackled is having a ROUTINE. I hate it already. ha!

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Edit to previous: thought I HAD a handle on it. Oh yeah … I’m an editor! A slow one.

  27. G’day matey 🙂

    Check out the ASIST workshop that I mentioned.
    Well worth the effort.

    Thanks for the visit.
    Best wishes Ribbon

    PS I like your blog!

  28. love it and hadn’t seen it before… thanks for publishing it.

Comments are closed.