• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

A trip to the eye-doctor Part 1.

We’ll have to go back a week before the trip to the optometrist. I was working on an asset management system for a major Electricity supplier and we were fast approaching the deadline for system implementation. Things were tense as not all the modules had been written and one that I was working on was giving me problems.

The computer I was using suddenly bit the dust and I couldn’t revive it, the problem was not that I had lost my code, everything was saved on a fileserver and backed up, but that I couldn’t continue until I had a working computer and I started to stress out. Then out of nowhere a massive headache began to build.

Now I’d had headaches before (in fact I suffered from chronic headaches for about 15 years) but this was a real ball buster. Feeling really sick, I went to the toilet and threw up for what seemed to be about four days but was probably less. I felt strange so I went to my car, laid the seat back and slept for about an hour. When I went back to work I started throwing up again, there was nothing left to throw up but that didn’t seem to make any difference.

Being unable to stand up without feeling like I would collapse I went back to my car and slept for another hour or so, then decided to go home. The trip should normally take an hour door to door, on this particular day it took me a bit over four hours to get home as I had to stop around 5 or 6 times to either dry heave or sleep.

When I finally got home I was that weak I was barely able to drag myself to bed. Some time later my wife got home and asked me how I was (as I said, I had suffered from headaches for years so this was nothing unusual). I remember saying “My eyeballs hurt” before pulling the covers over my head and going back to sleep.

By the next afternoon I was feeling bit better, although my eyes still seemed to hurt, so I rang work and told them I’d be taking a few days off. I felt awful about it with the deadline and all, but since everyone witnessed my turn the day before, no-one complained.

For the next three days I felt as weak as a kitten, at one point I tried to climb over the fence to help a neighour cut down a tree but couldn’t lift myself off the ground. Since I had some time off, it seemed like now would be a good time to get the prescription for my glasses updated, so I made an appointment.

After the usual ‘read the chart stuff’, she got the funny looking flashlight (we say torch but I can speak American too) and looked into my eyes. It seemed she was looking for a much longer time than normal and finally said that she would need to make a phone call. This turned out to be to an ophthalmologist and she booked me in to see him the next day.

Now is where it starts to get interesting, but due to my aversion to long posts (of which this is already one) I’ll finish the story tomorrow. Any guesses so far?

15 Responses

  1. This is as bad as a movie that is “to be continued” . . . . I’m intrigued!

  2. Hmm…some sort of Retinal tear? Iritis? tell us tell us tell us

  3. I GUESS I’ll have to wait until tomorrowfodwox!

  4. Yikes! I can’t believe you hung around barfing at work that long! Or drove yourself home!! Men are always SUCH bad patients “oh dear my leg seems to have fallen off, never mind, back to work!”*boggle*No idea what’s wrong but I hope it’s not as potentially dramatic as it sounds, eek.

  5. Damn..don’t keep us in suspense!I know..you heaved on the optomologist.

  6. Hmm, You had been wearing as size to small underwear? again! Paul .B.

  7. Ooooh! I have no idea….I’m just glad you said “flashlight” instead of “torch”.

  8. Don’t listen to Paul B., he visited me in hospital so he actually knows what happened.

  9. Good one Paul B. – LOL, I did. Literally!Retina separation? Just a guess. I have no clue!Now I am going to read what it really was!

  10. I just want to point out that I spelled ophthalmologist in my last comment. I am a proofer, and I just couldn’t let it go. Thanks for pointing out the error of my ways. Gotta like a man who notices spelling errors!

  11. woops..should have added the word wrong to the above comment…thought I’d catch that before you did..also, I know this is gramatically incorrect, but I do so love to leave…after every sentence…some kind of illness………………

  12. Beth, thanks for the correction, it gets even stranger because I actually read your comment in my email and didn’t see your update (i.e. I only got the first comment) and was somewhat confused. It wasn’t until I got into the comments to reply that I saw your correction, it still hasn’t showed up in my email.I was going to tell you about my proofing but I’ve already waffled on a bit too much. Maybe later if you’re interested.

  13. Ah yes, I’m a big fan of ellipses myself. (and no, that’s not a spelling mistake, its the plural of ellipsis)

  14. Yes, I would like to hear about proofing…I don’t know what’s wrong with me..I randomly trolling Aussie blogs……

  15. I=I’m

Comments are closed.