• Hi There.

  • WT’s Trivia

  • They said what???

  • Really Fresh Dingo

    Powered by FeedBurner

    Subscribe in Bloglines

    Subscribe in NewsGator Online

  • Almost Fresh Dingo

  • Not so Fresh Dingo

  • Smelly Old Dingo

  • Bentley

  • Buddy

  • Booey

  • Buzz

  • Belle

  • Beau

A brief explaination.

A few comments about Booey need a reply and an explanation, but the comments editor is even worse than this one so I’ll do it here.

While both Buzz and Booey are great cats, very placid and very friendly (to me), they are semi-feral and have a natural distrust of people. I can guarantee that they have never been mistreated because they were born right here. However, if I get visitors they both disappear until the coast is clear, this includes MDW who has held them and fed them when they were kittens.

My friend came up last weekend and as usual they both took of, but unlike normal, only Buzz came back after JC had gone. I’m guessing Booey had a run in with one of the many feral cats around the place and either chased or was chased further from home than he normally goes, as he was sporting a lot of nicks and scratches when he showed up.

So to the comments, first of all thank you all for the kind wishes.

Pamela – Yes I see lots of spiders and plenty of snakes. The cats occasionally bring home smallish snakes. The spiders mainly hang out in the machinery shed.

Claudia – mine used to come back like that when they were kittens, ah for the good old days.

Marnie – the snakes around here aren’t big enough to eat a cat, more likely the cat would have startled one and got bit.

Jeanette – both cats were fixed as soon as possible, tomcatting is not only a dangerous pastime, there are already too many ferals here. I’m just south of Tamworth, technically not the outback, but for the sake of the blog it’s close enough.

Amanda – nice sentiment, but Booey didn’t really know Tigger. Tigger lived on the Coast with MDW and only visited when MDW had to speak at conferences and was going to be gone for more than three days. I’ll pass your compliment on to him.

Swampy – gazunthite.

Karmyn – I don’t have a problem with Booey leading a double life as the neighbouring properties are too far away. But you are another matter! I’d seriously investigate the possibility that Ossie is two timing you. Not only have I seen this addressed before on TV and in advice columns, I have experienced it first hand. Years ago MDW took in a stray and feed and sheltered him for months before we found out he lived 6 doors down. He was splitting his time between both places depending on what food he liked best. And only recently we learned that Tigger was being fed by a neighbour for nearly two years!

6 Responses

  1. We have a new cat. We have barn cats but never a cat we kept inside. I think he’s about 1 month old now. He’s not too healthy looking and lays around a lot. I’m hoping he snaps out of it with some regular food and water along with worming etc. Is it normal for kittens to be lathargic?

  2. I’m posting here so you will get the response. Okay so just like puppy shots I have kitten shots? Good night! I’ll call the vet tomorrow, in a secret way so my cat hating husband can’t hear. ha! Lots of info in one post? I am the Queen of information. It might not be what you want or need persay but I’ve got info! Thanks for the advice.

  3. reviewed the pix you posted. He looks as though he is ready to spit at you for taking his picture.I’ve had cats jump in people’s cars and ride away. The contessa hid the first six months when people came. She’s starting to be more social now. EXCEPT..she still hisses and lays her ears back at kids.We had one cat who got her head caught under the garage door and thought she was a vulture after that.

  4. I’m so glad the little booger came home!! Have been so busy I haven’t kept up with my blog reading as much as I’d like to so I just saw tonight that he’d gone missing.

  5. kittens? AWWW!! I got my girl at 3yrs old from the shelter…but I am such a sucker for kittens…which we haven’t had since that pic of me in Italy!!

  6. Thanks for clearing that up… I had images of a huge snake snacking on kitties for fun.I watch too many scary movies.

Comments are closed.